3.8 Losing the Rack The shooter loses if he (a) fouls when pocketing the eight ball; (b) pockets the eight ball before his group is cleared; (c) pockets the eight ball in an uncalled pocket; or (d) drives the eight ball off the table. These do not apply to the break shot. (See 3.3 Break Shot.)
Having read the above, you don't lose in the described situation and you agree with the second post?
Sounds like someone said you lost when you did that LOL
No, you don't lose if the 8 is on the table and you scratch in BCA or WPA rules. Same thing for the BCAPL and USAPL league rules.
I remember one time I was playing in a small tournament some TAP league guys did that used bar style rules. I ran the table from the break, but I got hooked behind one of his balls on the 8 (since they were still all on the table) and had to kick. Missed hitting the 8, and lost the game with the other player never getting out of his chair since any foul on the 8 was a loss.
I was just looking to confirm what I thought I read and understood about that rule. I'm starting to have tournaments in a retirement community and I wanted to be certain of the rules. Years ago it was a loss of game from what I remember.
Your experience above is why you would never want to run 7 balls and miss because your opponent has you right by the you know what if the rule was a loss.