break foul rules question

canadave

Bluenoser
Hi folks, quick hello from Nova Scotia's South Shore :) I'm a rank amateur (not a typo for "ranked"...lol), but I love playing straight pool, and I've just taken up the game again after many years off, because I finally found a friend who's willing to upgrade from 8-ball ;)

I'm a little rusty on the rules, and I'm a little unclear about the opening break. Let me run some scenarios by you all, and maybe you can clarify for me:

Scenario 1: On the opening break, everything else is legal (2 object balls hit a cushion, and the cue ball hits a cushion), but the cue ball winds up going into a pocket after hitting the cushion. Is it -2 points, or -1 point?

Scenario 2: On the opening break, the cue ball goes directly into the pocket and no object ball hits a rail. Is it -2 points, or -1 point?

Also...I read something about how "breaking fouls" are not counted for the purposes of the "three consecutive fouls results in -15 points" rule? Is that correct? So, if someone takes three attempts at the opening break, and fouls on all three attempts, it's just -6 points?
 
Last edited:
Hi folks, quick hello from Nova Scotia's South Shore :) I'm a rank amateur (not a typo for "ranked"...lol), but I love playing straight pool, and I've just taken up the game again after many years off, because I finally found a friend who's willing to upgrade from 8-ball ;)

I'm a little rusty on the rules, and I'm a little unclear about the opening break. Let me run some scenarios by you all, and maybe you can clarify for me:

Scenario 1: On the opening break, everything else is legal (2 object balls hit a cushion, and the cue ball hits a cushion), but the cue ball winds up going into a pocket after hitting the cushion. Is it -2 points, or -1 point?

Scenario 2: On the opening break, the cue ball goes directly into the pocket and no object ball hits a rail. Is it -2 points, or -1 point?

Also...I read something about how "breaking fouls" are not counted for the purposes of the "three consecutive fouls results in -15 points" rule? Is that correct? So, if someone takes three attempts at the opening break, and fouls on all three attempts, it's just -6 points?

Here is my understanding:

Scenario one: No breaking foul has occurred. The penalty is -1 and the incoming shooter received BIH behind the headstring. The perp is on one foul.

Scenario 2: A breaking foul has occurred, since if both a breaking foul and regular foul occur on the same shot, it is considered a breaking foul (rule 4.10). -2 and the incoming player can either accept the balls in position or call for either player to re-break. Does not count towards 3 fouls.

Rule 4.10:

4.10 Breaking Foul

A breaking foul is penalized by the loss of two points as mentioned under 4.3 Opening Break Shot, as well as a possible re-break. If both a standard foul and a breaking foul happen on one shot, it is considered a breaking foul.

Rule 4.3:

4.3 Opening Break Shot
The following rules apply to the opening break shot:
(a) The cue ball begins in hand behind the head string.
(b) If no called ball is pocketed, the cue ball and two object balls must each be driven to a rail or the shot is a breaking foul. (See 8.4 Driven to a Rail.) This is penalized by subtracting two points from the breaker’s score. (See 4.10 Breaking Foul.) The non-breaking player may accept the balls in position or may require the breaker to play another opening break shot, until he satisfies the requirements for an opening break or the non-shooting player accepts the table in position. (See 4.11 Serious Fouls)

Lastly, a breaking foul does not count towards 3 successive fouls.
 
Last edited:
Thanks, that's quite helpful.

Here's another question. I know if a ball is accidentally potted, it's spotted on the foot spot, but is moved back from the foot spot if there's a ball blocking it being placed there. What happens if there are so many balls spotted consecutively, that there's no more room to spot a ball between the foot spot and the edge of the table?

**EDIT**: found out myself. Balls are spotted above the foot spot in that situation.
 
Thanks, that's quite helpful.

Here's another question. I know if a ball is accidentally potted, it's spotted on the foot spot, but is moved back from the foot spot if there's a ball blocking it being placed there. What happens if there are so many balls spotted consecutively, that there's no more room to spot a ball between the foot spot and the edge of the table?

**EDIT**: found out myself. Balls are spotted above the foot spot in that situation.

Keep in mind an accidental pot is not always spotted. If you made your called shot and inadvertently sink another ball, that one stays down and you get credit for it.

Most "accidental" pots as you put it, occur when miss a shot and make another ball. Balls also get spotted when you make a ball but scratch, or when you call safe and make a ball, but these are not always accidental. You may intentionally make the ball when calling safe because you want to move it to the spot rather than where it would otherwise be.
 
Back
Top