Cost of a pool table

livemusic

AzB Silver Member
Silver Member
How much does a decent table cost? Installation included, hopefully. I have a Brunswick Windsor, I think it is 8.5 ft (EDIT; wrong, it must be an 8 ft because it's 44 inches across on short side) and the pockets are not punishing; probably a somewhat standard size/type sold in this area about 1974. It's ok but needs new felt. I dunno what I would get different regarding length or quality, I just am interested in something equally good or better. Would consider giving my table to my brother if he wanted it. For felt, I would like good quality. As for length, mine is fine or whatever consensus is on that. Pocket tightness, I'm open on that. From what I have to maybe slightly more demanding but unsure on that, want it to be fun and I'm no expert. I did a drill yesterday that scored me as a B- where the scoring system was ABCD and each letter also had a plus and a minus. I would think C+ to B- is fair... intermediate, maybe slightly above? I hope to improve at age 67! I certainly can improve a notch or two.

Is there anything a modern table would provide that my table does not?

The other option is to just get mine reworked but I wish my brother had a table, too, he lives in the sticks and is a hermit and could use a table, he enjoys pool, lol. I think he has room. If nothing else, a bar table size.

Last edited:

spliced

AzB Silver Member
Silver Member

Lawnboy77

AzB Silver Member
Silver Member
My advice is to get you a good used Gold Crown 9ft. if you really want to improve and have fun. The pockets will be a little tighter than the table you have now. An 8 ft. with big pockets is not really a table to measure your abilities with. I would count on spending 3,000.00 for a good used GC moved and setup with new Simonis. Pretty cheap considering the years of enjoyment it can bring, and it will more than likely still have much of that value when, or if, you decide to let it go.

garczar

AzB Silver Member