I agree with Bob and Neil but that is a bit confusing to the matter at hand. Here, we are talking about a "foul and a miss" situation".....Bob and Neil are referring to a possible "free ball" situation--completely different subject.
About the angling/free ball issue that Bob and Neil are philosophizing about, here are my two cents:
I glanced through the rules quickly (as if that is actually possible) but could not find exactly what I was looking for. However, according to my memory, if player A commits a foul and leaves the cue ball "angled" (that is, obstructed by the cushion) then player B has three options: 1) play it as it lies (not likely but possible), 2) have player A play it as it lies (may not want to do that if the object ball is sitting in the jaws of another pocket), or 3) (and this is the strange part not seen anywhere else in the rules, if only I could find it) player B MAY PLAY WITH CUE BALL IN HAND FROM THE "D" same as if the white had gone in off. It is important to note that if the white ball is left ANGLED on the object ball, there is no free ball awarded.
______________________
Other important things to note, in any possible free ball scenarios, when the cue ball is either snookered or angled so that it is not possible to strike the ball on (object ball) directly, one must define what is the actual "snookering" (or "angling") entity. Specifically, if a player nominates a "free ball", it would then be a foul to snooker the opponent BEHIND that nominated free ball (for instance, to nominate the GREEN as free ball in place of RED, then to just roll up behind GREEN to block all the reds from the opponent is a foul. However, it is perfectly legal to nominate green, strike it, then leave the cue ball snookered behind BROWN even if the green then rolls forward to stop in the same line effectively acting as a second snookering ball, but, by definition, the BROWN is considered to be the snookering ball (since it is closest to the white in the line to the ball on) so the stroke is legal. As for angling, I doubt that it is physically possible for a "snookering" ball to be closer to the cue ball than the cushion, therefore, if the incoming player is angled, it is (by definition) impossible to say that he is also snookered because the white is CLOSEST (in a straight line to the ball on) to the angling entity (the cushion). To continue the above sample situation.....if a player nominates GREEN (which is very close to the green pocket) as the free ball, taps it, then leaves the white "angled" on all the reds in the jaws of the green pocket, but also "snookered" behind the green, then there is no foul--the white ball is "angled", and so TECHNICALLY, not "snookered" behind green.
WHEW! It's no wonder that SnookerIndy can't make heads or tails of some of the rules!