Giving up the 8-ball

poolhall maven

AzB Silver Member
Silver Member
So I'm giving up the 8 ball in a handicapped 9-ball tournament.
If I snap in the 8 on the break does it respot? That doesn't seem right to me.
 
poolhall maven said:
So I'm giving up the 8 ball in a handicapped 9-ball tournament.
If I snap in the 8 on the break does it respot? That doesn't seem right to me.


Yes it gets respotted after you are done shooting. The only way it does not get respotted is if you run to the 9. Then your opponent must shoot for the 9. If your opponent makes it on the break it gets repotted immediately, unless he scrathes when he makes it, then it stays down.

As far as not seeming right, that is the purpose of a spot. On the flip side if your opponent makes it on the break he doesn't win so only fair.
 
Usually it only spots if the player giving up the 8 ball makes it on the break and scratches.
 
I was under the impression if you are giving up the 8 the only way it would spot is if you make the 8 and fouled, either on the break or a normal shot...
Ron
 
it all depends on the rules of the tournament director.

if the director say it has to spot up on your break then it's only fair that it spots up on your oponents break as well; likewise, if it stays down on your break then if they make it on their break it should count as a win for them.

personally i prefer it stays down.
 
poolhall maven said:
So I'm giving up the 8 ball in a handicapped 9-ball tournament.
If I snap in the 8 on the break does it respot? That doesn't seem right to me.

It depends on exactly what the spot is. There are more than one way to give up the 8. The terminology may differ across the country, but a "wild 8" spot usually means that the 8 counts no matter when or how it is made where otherwise it may not count if made on the break. Ask beforehand about the specifics.
 
ronhudson said:
It depends on exactly what the spot is. There are more than one way to give up the 8. The terminology may differ across the country, but a "wild 8" spot usually means that the 8 counts no matter when or how it is made where otherwise it may not count if made on the break. Ask beforehand about the specifics.
The tournament set the rules. I would prefer it stays down.

The better part of the argument would be as to where in the rack is the eight ball put. For me I study the movements of the balls when my opponent breaks and that pretty much tells me where to put the eight ball in the rack.
 
Depends on what "getting the 8" . means.


Usually, I will say that getting the 8 means " wild 8" UNLESS it is specified a "call 8".

In wild 8 the eight is exactly like an additional 9 ball to the player who is getting it. If they make it legally at any time they win. If the one giving the spot makes the 8 legally it stays down ( if he makes it on a foul it spots up).


In " call 8" , you get the 8 as another money ball, but you must call the pocket in which it goes into for the win to count. If you make the 8 on the break, it stays down, and you continue shooting. UNLESS you can call the pocket it goes into. If you can call the 8 and make it on the break , you win. If you make the 8 into a pocket you did not call, it stays down.

In my opinion this is how most guys will play with a spot. People will make variations, though. You must always agree and negotiate BEFORE you play. Do not assume anything. Whenever you make a change away from standard rules, you must clarify everyhting.

I would suggest that if you are getting a "wild 8" and you aren't allowed to get the win from it on the break, then the racker should not be allowed to put it on a corner.

In most cases " call or wild" the opponent who is racking has an interest in not wanting you to make it on the break. Also, if it is rack your own, it is understood that you have to put it in the back two. If you are playing that it is impossible to make the 8 on the break and win, it may seem a bit odd.

In your version, do you have to call the 8 at all to win, or can you just luck it in? If it is indeed a " wild 8" then 8 on the break should win. If it does not count on the break, than the 8 should be required to go in the back two to lessen the chances of it going on the break and removing your spot as often. I would suggest this to your TD, it will prob go over well for most of the players.
 
poolhall maven said:
So I'm giving up the 8 ball in a handicapped 9-ball tournament.
If I snap in the 8 on the break does it respot? That doesn't seem right to me.


I am sorry, I misunderstood your specific question.

If you are GIVING the spot and you make it on the break, it stays down!

I have never heard of spotting it up in this case. It would be no different than if you made a 3-8 combo, 8 stays down. If you make your opponents spot on a foul, then it comes up. Otherwise, you could potentially just shoot the 8 ball straight in on the first shot, take the foul, and play the rest of the game even.
 
I am kinda surprised that so many want it to stay down. Everywhere I have played in this area always comes up. I would rather it stays down as I am not usuallly the one getting the spot, but to me doesn't seem fair to opponent. Especially since on flip side if opponent makes it on break it is not a win, unless wild of course.
 
Pushout said:
All depends on the rules the director lays out before hand.
That is true, bottom line. House rules and all that.

It stays down in real pool, assuming the break shot did not result in a foul.
 
Saggy said:
I am kinda surprised that so many want it to stay down. Everywhere I have played in this area always comes up. I would rather it stays down as I am not usuallly the one getting the spot, but to me doesn't seem fair to opponent. Especially since on flip side if opponent makes it on break it is not a win, unless wild of course.

Then it has to come up on the break for either player. How you like them apples?
 
Seems like it's highly variable depending what pool room / region you're in. At my home pool room, we play just how Saggy mentioned in his first post.
 
Depends.......

poolhall maven said:
So I'm giving up the 8 ball in a handicapped 9-ball tournament.
If I snap in the 8 on the break does it respot? That doesn't seem right to me.
What are the rules for your handicap tournament? Have to know the rules of any game before ya play. Rules differ from league to league and in tournaments.:rolleyes:
 
hmmmm......

poolhall maven said:
So I'm giving up the 8 ball in a handicapped 9-ball tournament.
If I snap in the 8 on the break does it respot? That doesn't seem right to me.
After readin other posts I thought of this scenario. Lets say you are spotting the guy the 7 and the 8. If he racks them on the wings and you make them both, do you want to spot them both now? Plus you made 2 balls on the break and now thay are respotted, this makes 11 balls you must pocket before you win. Not to mention that they are froze together on the spot now.
I say they should stay down, plus in real life the money balls are racked up front. This way they are less likely to go down on the break.
Realistically if I was getting the 8 and I knew it spotted I would rack it on the wing. This would force the better player to make it on the break and have to shoot it again to run out. He is playing 10 ball and I would be playing 9 ball. Like my odds, unless it's SVB or some world beater.:grin:
 
My opponent got the call 8 from me. I think he racked it in the 7th or 8th postion. Not a wing ball for an easy potting. It was a good break, I felt like I earned it. But, it was immediately respotted.
You guys are right tho, I should know better and know what the rules are. I'm new to giving up games + the 8 ball, but ignorance is no excuse.
 
Back
Top