Hal said:
I think that if the cue ball does anything other than what it would do if they were seperated a little, then it's a push. I don't know the technical ruling, but someone will.
Frozen ball thread by Colin Colenso
For some reason, this shot that comes up more often than many other shots is confused by most players.
If you were to poll 100 players, 99.5 would be wrong on the ruling, a rule that has
been in the BCA rulebook for decades now. Even my 1977 BCA rulebook is explicit about this shot.
If the balls are frozen together, you may shoot with any normal stroke directly at the balls.
If the balls aren't frozen together, you must take care to not
double hit the cue ball. If the balls aren't frozen together, and you shoot directly at the object ball
and the cueball goes flying forward, you are 99.99999999999999999999999999% assured to have
DOUBLE HIT the cueball. That is a foul.
For some reason (I have my theory), a lot of people (even professional players) have mistakenly called this a push shot foul.
It's not. A push shot has it's own definition. But, because people see this illegal shot in games like 14.1 and one-pocket, where a player pushes (like a push broom) the cueball when it's frozen to an object ball, they have associated this with the the illegal double hit as described above. It's not the same thing, folks. Read your rulebook. A push shot describes an illegal stroke
on the cueball. It has nothing to do with any object ball, though most illegal push shots involve an object ball.
There is a bizarre guideline in the BCA rulebook concerning just how far apart the cue ball and object ball have to be, and how far forward the cueball can go after the shot. But, it's a guideline that needs an overhaul, as again, out of 100 players polled, 99 will screw up the guideline as well.
Bottom line: frozen balls, you can shoot directly at them. Separated balls, shooting directly at them is a
DOUBLE HIT waiting to happen.
Fred