help with rule question

bbb

AzB Gold Member
Gold Member
Silver Member
this came up in another thread
Playing straight pool..player A is on one foul...and scratches...then he is on 2 fouls and player B has ball in hand behind the head string...

So player B could place the cueball behind the jaw of a pocket and just touch it with his cue leaving it there to make a third foul for player A more likely...that is one of the few intentional scratches that is not allowed...you will be penalized with unsportsmanship behaviour and get -15 points...

note: the cueball has not passed the head string

whats the ruling??
 
this came up in another thread
Playing straight pool..player A is on one foul...and scratches...then he is on 2 fouls and player B has ball in hand behind the head string...

So player B could place the cueball behind the jaw of a pocket and just touch it with his cue leaving it there to make a third foul for player A more likely...that is one of the few intentional scratches that is not allowed...you will be penalized with unsportsmanship behaviour and get -15 points...

note: the cueball has not passed the head string

whats the ruling??


ball must pass headstring. I think it may be UC
 
An old copy I have of the BCA rulebook states, "When the cue ball is in hand behind the head string, it remains in hand (not in play) until the player drives the cue ball past the head string by striking it with his cue tip." That is, what you're describing wouldn't be a foul, but the turn wouldn't end yet either. If you want to give that leave to your opponent after his scratch, you're going to have to bank the ball past the head string and back into the position.
 
An old copy I have of the BCA rulebook states, "When the cue ball is in hand behind the head string, it remains in hand (not in play) until the player drives the cue ball past the head string by striking it with his cue tip." That is, what you're describing wouldn't be a foul, but the turn wouldn't end yet either. If you want to give that leave to your opponent after his scratch, you're going to have to bank the ball past the head string and back into the position.

This is how I've always interpreted it.
 
... whats the ruling??
See: http://www.wpa-pool.com/web/the_rules_of_play#6.11

Since the situation is handled explicitly, I guess it wouldn't fall into unsportsmanlike conduct. If a player taps the cue ball into a corner hook, the other player gets ball in hand. The only unfair advantage to be had is if the incoming player is unaware of the rule and the tapping player fails to tell him that he has ball in hand, hoping that he will try to shoot from the corner hook.

It's possible to construct a situation in which the best shot is to just touch the cue ball with ball in hand and give up ball in hand to your opponent, but usually it can be done by shooting the cue ball into one of the four lower pockets.
 
See: http://www.wpa-pool.com/web/the_rules_of_play#6.11

Since the situation is handled explicitly, I guess it wouldn't fall into unsportsmanlike conduct. If a player taps the cue ball into a corner hook, the other player gets ball in hand. The only unfair advantage to be had is if the incoming player is unaware of the rule and the tapping player fails to tell him that he has ball in hand, hoping that he will try to shoot from the corner hook.

It's possible to construct a situation in which the best shot is to just touch the cue ball with ball in hand and give up ball in hand to your opponent, but usually it can be done by shooting the cue ball into one of the four lower pockets.

thanks for the reply
this rule the way i read means also that those who beleive if the cue ball doesnt pass the head string lets say a miscue the shooter would shoot over is not correct according to the rule
 
Back
Top