How often do pros "practice"? What is enough?

1pocketguru

Registered
I knew a pro that would run drills by himself about 9 hours a day. He treated it like a normal 9-5 job and did it 5 days a week. If there was a tournament on the weekend then it was "extra time on the table".
What is enough for most?
I'm wanting to play my best and I've got a good system of drills and content. My stroke seems solid.
I'm thinking if I put in 2 hours minimum on a well designed routine and do that every other day, that should be enough.
Whaddya think?

SSP

I started playing again last year after about 10 years of not playing, got a practice table at the end October so it's been about 3 1/2 months since I have been able to practice every day, I find PRACTICING everyday has raised my game quickly, I love to compete but when I take the time to find my mistakes both physically and mentally I make less of them when I compete, I practice about 1 hour to 11/2 hours a day, missed a couple here and there but I really like hitting balls everyday.

ChrisinNC

AzB Silver Member
Silver Member
I knew a pro that would run drills by himself about 9 hours a day. He treated it like a normal 9-5 job and did it 5 days a week. If there was a tournament on the weekend then it was "extra time on the table".
What is enough for most?
I'm wanting to play my best and I've got a good system of drills and content. My stroke seems solid.
I'm thinking if I put in 2 hours minimum on a well designed routine and do that every other day, that should be enough.
Whaddya think?
I’m sure depends on their tournament schedule, but to get to the level of being a pro takes a crazy amount of practice/play. I’m guessing a minimum of 60+ hours of table time a week for 10-15+ years. That 60+ hours will be a combination of tournament match play, $$ matches, and solitary practice time.