I'm on this FOUL !!! thing-

rule

3RAILKICK said:
BTW I've searched the forums and do not find the question/answer. Based on the results of that search I would like to direct the question to Robert Jewett, Jay and anybody else who KNOWS. SITUATION: Opponent in 9B is left with a shot where the cueball may/or not pass an intervening ball on the way to a good hit on maybe a 1/16 of an inch available on the next required ball in sequence. It's too difficult to see whether the CB can make it thru. So- he lays cue on table as a straight edge to see if the path is open. He leaves the cue on table and sights down the path from both directions. Shoots and makes good hit. FOUL?????

3RAILKICK/Bill:confused:
come on people, learn your rules!! it is a foul to use cue to measure ,if you do not have it in hand, to measure if ball will pass another clean can onley be measured if you have cue in hand.you may not get ball from pocket to use as it is a foul!!! I suggest to each to get a set of rules you use at your room and study them as it always helps to know.:mad: :mad: :mad: :mad:
 
3RAILKICK said:
LANGUAGE BARRIER

Response does not address the topic. The question is not whether it is OK to leave the cue on the table WHILE YOU GO TAKE A PISS. The question was whether it is CHEATING to use the cue to figure out if there's room for the cue ball to go by a ball thats in the way without hitting that ball. Stated another way- can you only 'eyeball' it?- or can you get out your chalkline and snap a line after you used your surveyor's transit and optics to help figure it out b4 you shoot?

Now I can understand that you didn't understand the question if you read (past tense) this while you had to go PISS REAL BADDDDD- that interferes with the ability to read and comprehend.

My next post will contain lots of bad words and insults so that it can be more easily understood.

WTF(maybe pictures -in color-would help)
3railkick/Bill

EDIT: I am kinda afraid to ask- where those tournaments are being held. But that would be good info to know - I guess.


you need some meds man. jumping down someone's throat isn't a great way to elicit future responses. someone (a few actually) had already answered the question anyway...

so, wtf back at ya man.

-s
 
steev said:
you need some meds man. jumping down someone's throat isn't a great way to elicit future responses. someone (a few actually) had already answered the question anyway...

so, wtf back at ya man.

-s
THANK YOU-I AGREE-POINT TAKEN
I over reacted to someone responding about apples when the question was about oranges. I apologize. my response was out of line and out of character.

3railkick/Bill (VERY occasional squeaky wheel)
 
3RAILKICK said:
BTW I've searched the forums and do not find the question/answer. Based on the results of that search I would like to direct the question to Robert Jewett, Jay and anybody else who KNOWS. SITUATION: Opponent in 9B is left with a shot where the cueball may/or not pass an intervening ball on the way to a good hit on maybe a 1/16 of an inch available on the next required ball in sequence. It's too difficult to see whether the CB can make it thru. So- he lays cue on table as a straight edge to see if the path is open. He leaves the cue on table and sights down the path from both directions. Shoots and makes good hit. FOUL?????

3RAILKICK/Bill:confused:

The answer depends on which rules you play by. According to ACS and World Standardized rules it is a foul to lay your stick on the table and use it as an alignment device.

The BCA used to use this too. However, under the new BCA use of equipment rules...."you may use your cue stick, held in your hand or not to align a shot". In other words, this would no longer be a foul in BCA.
 
poolboy17 said:
The answer depends on which rules you play by. According to ACS and World Standardized rules it is a foul to lay your stick on the table and use it as an alignment device.

The BCA used to use this too. However, under the new BCA use of equipment rules...."you may use your cue stick, held in your hand or not to align a shot". In other words, this would no longer be a foul in BCA.
OK-thanks. Looks like I was off base. My local league director allows it- so- no argument will change his mind. Moving on.

And thanks to all responders especially Bob Jewett and Jay who's opinions I value highly.

3railkick/Bill
 
there is a youtube video, i saw a link here from asia a year or 2 ago where the 9-ball was surronded by 4-5 balls and the guy comming up had BIH he jumped to hit it, it was a great video i cant find the link anywhere
 
Back
Top