Intentional double hit

Over the years I have seen players do this in one pocket- say your opponent needs 1 ball and has a ball so deep in his hole that you can't remove it and there is a ball on the table that your opponent could make
if he had ball in hand behind the string line if you made his ball and scratched. Simply double hit the cue ball
real easy and make the ball in his pocket but don't scratch. The ball you made comes up plus one of your's- I always thought it bordered on
cheating but on the other hand I not aware of a rule against it and you're still alive!

If a guy pulls that move the best thing to do is don't call a double hit foul on him... and if he says he did double hit the cueball just say you didn't see it. Games over you win.
 
doublehit answer

Over the years I have seen players do this in one pocket- say your opponent needs 1 ball and has a ball so deep in his hole that you can't remove it and there is a ball on the table that your opponent could make
if he had ball in hand behind the string line if you made his ball and scratched. Simply double hit the cue ball
real easy and make the ball in his pocket but don't scratch. The ball you made comes up plus one of your's- I always thought it bordered on
cheating but on the other hand I not aware of a rule against it and you're still alive!

Gambling at 9ball I had a guy hooked with the nine hanging in the jaws.He
pushes whitey clear and drills the 9.I said foul no rail and put the 9 back in the jaws,took ball in hand.He says no the 9 goes on the spot.I asked why?
Of course he admits to the double hit as well as not contacting proper ball
first.I said only one foul can be called and I am calling the first one.The man was not happy but coudn't argue!
 
see, this is a very good question, and us being pool players and all we cant figure it out, not sure why.

in my mind, technically there is no reason you should not be able to double hit the cb on purpose, with the caveat that perhaps youd need somebody to call the shot, but if he calls it a bad hit, then yeah the balls pocketed should be spotted according to one pocket rules.

real world rules, you generally cant do this. if you do it and make the guys game ball for example, he's just gonna be like ok, great game and shake your hand, and there will be a fight if you say otherwise.

the solution: why the hell dont we just say if the cb stays on the table, the incoming player has the right to choose if the "fouled" balls stay down or not. WHY IN THE WORLD WOULD WE NOT JUST DO THAT?? i think the problem is with the rules, not with people trying to pull this move. if you make a foul an advantage, as it is in one pocket many times, people are gonna want to do this.

i dont know, like a million things in pool, the solution seems very simple, yet we'll never do it.
 
if i follow your thoughts here let me say this - first you say there is a ball so deep in the pocket it cant be taken out, next you say the person intentionally fouled by double hitting the cue, and the foul keeps you from making your hole ball.
another poster says to intentionally foul (i think) by making the opponents ball but not scratching which should cause his ball and another (yours) to come up. i disagree on this point but will get to that in a moment.

here's where i differ and maybe i'm interpreting this rule/s wrongly: the only time the other player loses a ball that is made in his/her hole (no pun intended) is when the player at the table shoots, makes the opponents ball, and scratches all on the same shot. of course the scratch is a foul. scratch is the operative word here.

any other type foul, intentional or not does not cause the other player to lose a ball even if a ball has been potted in their hole. the rules say the ball/s only come up when a ball is made in the opposing players pocket and a scratch is made simultaneously. the scratch can be in any pocket on the table although its commonly done by making the opposing players ball and scratching in the same pocket.

now with all that said, intentional fouls are part of any game, and are particularly useful in staight pool (14 . 1). in fact the penalty for intentional fouls is spelled out as loss of ball/s and on the third foul a rerack. in nine ball we often intentionally foul by shooting the nine away from a dead combo, lying in hole, or by clutering a couple balls together to perhaps toughen up a possible run out - all this being done if you are hopelessly hooked.
in eight ball i won a game against a better player by intentionally fouling and even giving them cue in hand, by shooting their ball in the hole. other intentional fouls are numerous. so i am not really sure why any intentional foul should be met with disdain when it is a strategy that is employed by most anyone who has ever held a cue.

IMO - gerald
 
Okay, now I want a clarifcation after reading this thread. :) Generally this type of situation comes up when a ball is sitting in front of your hole and your oppenent is maybe on the back, short rail. For whatever reason, they cannot pocket the ball and follow the CB in or jump the CB off of the table. They would then pull the "move" of double-hitting the CB, waiting for you to call the foul.

The rules as I read them say clearly that your opponent cannot do this, if the ball is pocketed using an illegal stroke and it is your last ball, it results in loss of game for your opponent. If your opponent does this, I would say, consider not playing them again if they are that desperate to win 1 game.

6.2 Any scratch or foul results in the end of the shooter's inning, as well as a standard one ball penalty. All balls pocketed in the shooter's pocket as a result of a stroke that includes a foul do not count for the shooting player and are to be immediately spotted, along with the standard one ball penalty. Also, any balls pocketed in the opponent's pocket on a stroke that ends in either a pocket scratch or with the cue ball off the table are not to be counted for the opponent, and are to be immediately spotted. However, on a stroke when any other foul is committed (such as a push shot, double-hit or illegal ball contact), any balls scored into the opponent's pocket are to stay down and be counted for the opponent.

Someone please correct me if I'm wrong... It was always my understanding that your opponent cannot do this.
 
Back
Top