IPT Rules - What's Next

GADawg

AzB Silver Member
Silver Member
Somebody on the forum said that Deno said that the IPT rules were complete within themselves. If that is the case, then what is next?

I took a very superflous look at the World Standardized General Rules of Billiards and noted the following four items which are covered there, but not even mentioned in the IPT Rules as far as I can see:
  1. Push Shots
  2. Double Hits
  3. Measuring Devices
  4. Marking
I'm sure there are many others and now that the cat is out of the bag, the smart players will find and use them. There is more at play here than a few league points or a beer.

Again, a damn poor job on the part of the IPT in drafting the ""Real Rules." It's not like this rocket science or something that hasn't been done before.
 
GADawg said:
Somebody on the forum said that Deno said that the IPT rules were complete within themselves. If that is the case, then what is next?

I took a very superflous look at the World Standardized General Rules of Billiards and noted the following four items which are covered there, but not even mentioned in the IPT Rules as far as I can see:
  1. Push Shots
  2. Double Hits
  3. Measuring Devices
  4. Marking
I'm sure there are many others and now that the cat is out of the bag, the smart players will find and use them. There is more at play here than a few league points or a beer.

Again, a damn poor job on the part of the IPT in drafting the ""Real Rules." It's not like this rocket science or something that hasn't been done before.

I was the one who said that and believe it to be true. Someone else made fun of me for being so technical. Sometimes you have to get very technical in interpreting the rules. Obviously someone from this past tournament saw an opening.

GADawg said:
[*]Push Shots
[*]Double Hits
These are actually ok because they are covered under the rule of cueball fouls. Basically, it is always a foul to push or double hit the cueball. No seperate rule is necessarily required.
GADawg said:
[*]Measuring Devices [*]Marking
It says that you can only use equipment for the manner it was intended. However, you're right in that it does not list a specific penalty. I guess it is up to referee discretion.

Here's another example. The IPT rules only say that if you declare a safety, even if you pocket a ball that you do not need to shoot again. So, on an open table...what stops a player from being able to declare stripes or solids while legally pocketing a ball but declaring a safety?

World Standardized rules define any balls made while declaring a safety as "illegally pocketed balls". (Not a foul, just a loss of turn) This is why you cannot declare stripes or solids on an open table while declaring a safety.

Since the IPT rules do not say it...what stops a player from "legally" pocketing a stripe or solid while declaring a safety on an open table (and thus establishing themselves as stripes or solids)?
 
Blue_chalk said:
I was the one who said that and believe it to be true. Someone else made fun of me for being so technical. Sometimes you have to get very technical in interpreting the rules. Obviously someone from this past tournament saw an opening.


These are actually ok because they are covered under the rule of cueball fouls. Basically, it is always a foul to push or double hit the cueball. No seperate rule is necessarily required.

It says that you can only use equipment for the manner it was intended. However, you're right in that it does not list a specific penalty. I guess it is up to referee discretion.

Here's another example. The IPT rules only say that if you declare a safety, even if you pocket a ball that you do not need to shoot again. So, on an open table...what stops a player from being able to declare stripes or solids while legally pocketing a ball but declaring a safety?

World Standardized rules define any balls made while declaring a safety as "illegally pocketed balls". (Not a foul, just a loss of turn) This is why you cannot declare stripes or solids on an open table while declaring a safety.

Since the IPT rules do not say it...what stops a player from "legally" pocketing a stripe or solid while declaring a safety on an open table (and thus establishing themselves as stripes or solids)?

Hopefully we won't stir up Mike Shamos :)
 
Back
Top