T
THE SILENCER
Guest
i believe your wrong, yet i could be mistaken, i feel if you contact the other side of the side pocket, that is considered a completly different cushion.
nfty9er said:Gee if there are only 4 rails, how many cushions?
Last time I covered a table there were 6, how do six fit on 4 rails.
i dont care what he said, there are six cushions and they are connected to six rails period.striker_3 said:I do agree that there are 6 cushions. But if you go buy the silencer's definition, there are only 4 rails. Go read his post about people calling the cushions rails.
THE SILENCER said:the object ball is frozen to the cushion. the cue ball is 4 inches directly in front of the cue ball. the ref, and everyone states out loud and clearly, the object ball is offically frozen to the cushion. you hit the object ball medium soft dead on into it's face, and here's what happens, the object ball leaves the cushion, double kisses the cue ball, and the object ball goes back and hits the original cushion it was frozen to. now, is that a foul? answer= i don't know, that's why i'm asking. i know, a lot of people will respond, yes, because the cue ball was already frozen, thus it had to be driven to a DIFFERENT cushion. i say, i don't think so, as long as the object ball comes off, and HITS the cushion, why then isn't that's all thats required, for a saftey allowed? these responses ought to be very intresting!
nfty9er said:i dont care what he said, there are six cushions and they are connected to six rails period.
BCA rules 3.38 says it is a foul unless after the cb contacts the object ball one of the following happens...the cb contacts a cushion, a ball is pocketed, the ob contacts a cushion not attached to the same rail, or another object ball is driven to a cushion.
nfty9er said:Gee if there are only 4 rails, how many cushions?
Last time I covered a table there were 6, how do six fit on 4 rails.
That is right, what there are 4 of is sides and corners on the table.nfty9er said:i dont care what he said, there are six cushions and they are connected to six rails period.
tobyjoe said:Yeah, that's a foul... Well, it depends. If it's truly simultaneous, it would be. If it hits the cushion first, it would be. If it hits the object ball first, it would not be. But you'd need high-speed photography or a very attentive referee to call it accurately.
If it's so close you can't tell, it's up to the ref.
If you're gambling and it's so close you can't tell, it depends on all the factors (how much $, whether the other guy is bigger, etc), haha.
THE SILENCER said:the object ball is frozen to the cushion. the cue ball is 4 inches directly in front of the cue ball. the ref, and everyone states out loud and clearly, the object ball is offically frozen to the cushion. you hit the object ball medium soft dead on into it's face, and here's what happens, the object ball leaves the cushion, double kisses the cue ball, and the object ball goes back and hits the original cushion it was frozen to. now, is that a foul? answer =I can't believe noone pointed this out...Physically, what is described above might be impossible. When an object ball is frozen to a rail, and the cue ball hits the object ball dead on, the object ball does not leave the rail until the the cue ball bounces off of the object ball. It only leaves the rail it was frozen to. So if nothing else gets a rail, it's a foul. There is no double kiss of the cue ball described above if the object ball is frozen. The object ball can't leave the rail until the cue ball has bounced back.
Anyway Silencer, you should not be shooting nitty shots like these as safeties. Show a little creativity.
Ken in CT said:You guys are great thinkers. I gave you the facts and if you won't accept them from me then look it up. Please stop presenting your thoughts as if they were facts.
Ken
Troy said:ENOUGH !!!
There are 4 rails. There are 6 cushions.
A ball hitting on the other side of a side pocket is a different cushion per the rules.
...
Troy said:And what facts would those be ??? The only other post you made on this was "There are 4 rails and hitting the other cushion on the same long rail would be a foul. Pool is not about thinking it is about pocketing balls. Too much thinking can lead to the wrong conclusion as has happened here.", and you are wrong.
Troy
BCA Rule 3.38(c) ...caused to contact a cushion attached to a separate rail...Ken in CT said:Troy you are thinking too much. Just look it up. I did!
Ken