Is This A Foul?

  • Thread starter Thread starter THE SILENCER
  • Start date Start date
i believe your wrong, yet i could be mistaken, i feel if you contact the other side of the side pocket, that is considered a completly different cushion.
 
nfty9er said:
Gee if there are only 4 rails, how many cushions?
Last time I covered a table there were 6, how do six fit on 4 rails.

I do agree that there are 6 cushions. But if you go buy the silencer's definition, there are only 4 rails. Go read his post about people calling the cushions rails.
 
sorry

striker_3 said:
I do agree that there are 6 cushions. But if you go buy the silencer's definition, there are only 4 rails. Go read his post about people calling the cushions rails.
i dont care what he said, there are six cushions and they are connected to six rails period.
 
the rail is dead

THE SILENCER said:
the object ball is frozen to the cushion. the cue ball is 4 inches directly in front of the cue ball. the ref, and everyone states out loud and clearly, the object ball is offically frozen to the cushion. you hit the object ball medium soft dead on into it's face, and here's what happens, the object ball leaves the cushion, double kisses the cue ball, and the object ball goes back and hits the original cushion it was frozen to. now, is that a foul? answer= i don't know, that's why i'm asking. i know, a lot of people will respond, yes, because the cue ball was already frozen, thus it had to be driven to a DIFFERENT cushion. i say, i don't think so, as long as the object ball comes off, and HITS the cushion, why then isn't that's all thats required, for a saftey allowed? these responses ought to be very intresting!

The object ball is frozen to the rail, THAT RAIL IS DEAD TO THAT OBJECT BALL NO MATTER WHAT RULES YOU ARE PLAYING. He was not talking about the cue ball being frozen, he just mis-stated in the middle of the post. That is why they declare the ball frozen in any pool game. hope this helps. Sam
 
nfty9er said:
i dont care what he said, there are six cushions and they are connected to six rails period.

Then why would the rule have the phrase "ob contacts a cushion not attached to the same rail"?
If each cushion has its own rail then the rule could omitt the "not attached to the same rail" part.
I have never recovered a table but isn't there 4 rails when the table is apart?
I would accept the rule either way but for now I see it as 4 rails with 6 cushions.

Whitey


BCA rules 3.38 says it is a foul unless after the cb contacts the object ball one of the following happens...the cb contacts a cushion, a ball is pocketed, the ob contacts a cushion not attached to the same rail, or another object ball is driven to a cushion.
 
BCA rules 3.38 says it is a foul unless after the cb contacts the object ball one of the following happens...the cb contacts a cushion, a ball is pocketed, the ob contacts a cushion not attached to the same rail, or another object ball is driven to a cushion.

OK, so what about this shot...

The OB is frozen to the foot rail somewhere around the middle. The CB is shot into the rail next to the OB and the OB rolls 2 inches down the rail but does not leave it. The CB travels up table and does not contact another rail.

Does the nearly simultaneous hit of the CB on the OB/rail count as being "after" contacting the OB, or is it a foul?
 
If I read the scenario correctly. It is a foul. Rules state that you must hit another cushion, meaning a different cushion from where the object ball lies. If the cue ball contacted a different cushion from where the object ball was then it is not a foul. If the object ball hit the same cushion from where it originally lie, then it is a foul because a differenct cushion was not contacted.

Hope this helps. BCA rule book specifically states this rule. Sorry I don't have the book here to quote from.

Lisa
 
Yeah, that's a foul... Well, it depends. If it's truly simultaneous, it would be. If it hits the cushion first, it would be. If it hits the object ball first, it would not be. But you'd need high-speed photography or a very attentive referee to call it accurately.

If it's so close you can't tell, it's up to the ref.

If you're gambling and it's so close you can't tell, it depends on all the factors (how much $, whether the other guy is bigger, etc), haha.
 
nfty9er said:
Gee if there are only 4 rails, how many cushions?
Last time I covered a table there were 6, how do six fit on 4 rails.

You are correct and wrong. There are 6 cushions but only 4 rails. Technical thing !!!

Lisa :D
 
nfty9er said:
i dont care what he said, there are six cushions and they are connected to six rails period.
That is right, what there are 4 of is sides and corners on the table.
 
Last edited:
WAIT A FREAKING MINUTE!

I thought this was a BUMPER POOL forum.

Oh, jeez. You guys play on those toy 9x4.5 tables? Haha. You're just a bunch of weenies playing on those things.

The REAL action happens on the bumper table.


:)
 
ENOUGH !!!

There are 4 rails. There are 6 cushions.
A ball hitting on the other side of a side pocket is a different cushion per the rules.
This scenario as stated is NOT a foul.
If a hit is simultaneous, the call goes to the shooter per the rules.
Any time it's too close to call, it goes to the shooter, per the rules.

If you don't have a copy of the rules, get a copy, or look here :
http://www.bca-pool.com/cgi/site/fr...om/play/tournaments/rules/rls_gen.shtml&cat=p

Troy
tobyjoe said:
Yeah, that's a foul... Well, it depends. If it's truly simultaneous, it would be. If it hits the cushion first, it would be. If it hits the object ball first, it would not be. But you'd need high-speed photography or a very attentive referee to call it accurately.

If it's so close you can't tell, it's up to the ref.

If you're gambling and it's so close you can't tell, it depends on all the factors (how much $, whether the other guy is bigger, etc), haha.
 
You guys are great thinkers. I gave you the facts and if you won't accept them from me then look it up. Please stop presenting your thoughts as if they were facts.
Ken
 
THE SILENCER said:
the object ball is frozen to the cushion. the cue ball is 4 inches directly in front of the cue ball. the ref, and everyone states out loud and clearly, the object ball is offically frozen to the cushion. you hit the object ball medium soft dead on into it's face, and here's what happens, the object ball leaves the cushion, double kisses the cue ball, and the object ball goes back and hits the original cushion it was frozen to. now, is that a foul? answer =
I can't believe noone pointed this out...Physically, what is described above might be impossible. When an object ball is frozen to a rail, and the cue ball hits the object ball dead on, the object ball does not leave the rail until the the cue ball bounces off of the object ball. It only leaves the rail it was frozen to. So if nothing else gets a rail, it's a foul. There is no double kiss of the cue ball described above if the object ball is frozen. The object ball can't leave the rail until the cue ball has bounced back.

Anyway Silencer, you should not be shooting nitty shots like these as safeties. Show a little creativity.
 
And what facts would those be ??? The only other post you made on this was "There are 4 rails and hitting the other cushion on the same long rail would be a foul. Pool is not about thinking it is about pocketing balls. Too much thinking can lead to the wrong conclusion as has happened here.", and you are wrong.

Troy
Ken in CT said:
You guys are great thinkers. I gave you the facts and if you won't accept them from me then look it up. Please stop presenting your thoughts as if they were facts.
Ken
 
Last edited:
Troy said:
ENOUGH !!!

There are 4 rails. There are 6 cushions.
A ball hitting on the other side of a side pocket is a different cushion per the rules.
...

BCA rules 3.38 says it is a foul unless after the cb contacts the object ball one of the following happens...the cb contacts a cushion, a ball is pocketed, the ob contacts a cushion not attached to the same rail, or another object ball is driven to a cushion.

Ken's right...IMO
 
When an object ball is frozen to a rail, and the cue ball hits the object ball dead on, the object ball does not leave the rail until the the cue ball bounces off of the object ball.

It is possible to make this shot if the cue ball has follow and strikes a cluster after it bounces off of the object ball. It can then go forward and hit the object ball again. It's even easier if the cue ball is slightly airborn when it hits a ball behind it. That will send it into the object ball and drive it back to the rail. Not a very practical shot and it's still a foul.
Ken
 
Troy said:
And what facts would those be ??? The only other post you made on this was "There are 4 rails and hitting the other cushion on the same long rail would be a foul. Pool is not about thinking it is about pocketing balls. Too much thinking can lead to the wrong conclusion as has happened here.", and you are wrong.

Troy

Troy you are thinking too much. Just look it up. I did!
Ken
 
Ken in CT said:
Troy you are thinking too much. Just look it up. I did!
Ken
BCA Rule 3.38(c) ...caused to contact a cushion attached to a separate rail...
What more do you need to know ???

Troy
 
Back
Top