Is this considered a foul?

jh3rron

The Beard
My beard is getting long and sometimes contacts an object ball while taking a shot. Is this considered a foul? There's no way that my facial hair can move the ball but some folks say I'm fouling.
 
My beard is getting long and sometimes contacts an object ball while taking a shot. Is this considered a foul? There's no way that my facial hair can move the ball but some folks say I'm fouling.

It depends on the rules under which you are playing.

If you are following strict WPA (world-standardized) rules, yes, it is a foul:
  • "6.6 Touched Ball
    It is a foul to touch, move or change the path of any object ball except by the normal ball-to-ball contacts during shots. It is a foul to touch, move or change the path of the cue ball except when it is in hand or by the normal tip-to-ball forward stroke contact of a shot. The shooter is responsible for the equipment he controls at the table, such as chalk, bridges, clothing, his hair, parts of his body, and the cue ball when it is in hand, that may be involved in such fouls. If such a foul is accidental, it is a standard foul, but if it is intentional, it is 6.17 Unsportsmanlike Conduct."

However, if you are playing "cue ball fouls only," then it may not be a foul. Here's what the WPA says about that:
  • "Cue ball fouls only
    If there is no referee presiding over a match, it may be played using cue ball fouls only. That is, touching or moving any ball other than the cue ball would not be a foul unless it changes the outcome of the shot by either touching another ball or having any ball, including the cue ball, going through the area originally occupied by the moved ball. If this does not happen, then the opposing player must be given the option of either leaving the ball where it lies or replacing the ball as near as possible to its original position to the agreement of both players. If a player shoots without giving his opponent the option to replace, it will be a foul resulting in cue ball in hand for the opponent."

Under some other sets of cue-ball-fouls-only rules, it's not generally a foul if only one object ball is disturbed (touched or moved) but it is a foul if more than one object ball is disturbed.

Many rules questions can be answered only in the context of the particular set of rules being used.
 
If it is because your beard is too long, that is easy to fix...trim it a little.

If it is because you are bending over too much, then maybe you should worry more about who is behind you than fouling.

Either way, it is a foul.

One may be a bit more FOUL than the other.
 
If anyone gets picky about it I'll just put it in a pony tail and tuck it in my shirt. I don't get real low on the ball but enough that the cue splits my beard and hangs 2 inches or so off the table.
 
If it is because your beard is too long, that is easy to fix...trim it a little.
If it is because you are bending over too much, then maybe you should worry more about who is behind you than fouling.
Either way, it is a foul.One may be a bit more FOUL than the other.

If I get your drift, and I think that I do, then it's as about at foul as it gets. He should be banished to the planet Uranus for such goings on. :smile:
 
Here is a solution
images
 
It depends on what rule system you're playing. By CSI/USAPL rules merely touching a single object ball isn't a foul.
 
Back
Top