Is this legal?

Z-Nole

AzB Silver Member
Silver Member
1660566869589.png

Saw this shot this morning. 8 ball is in the jaws of the side pocket. Is it legal to go under the table like this and jump the ball?
 
I would think it would fall under the heading of unsportsmanlike conduct for the use of equipment in an unintended manner.

I’m certainly going to defer to the experts though…

It’s worth noting that in blackball any jumpshot is illegal. This doesn’t appear to be blackball though unless they’re playing it with a numbered rack of balls…
 
I did get a laugh out of it and a great new idea for my home table ,should this scenario present itself. Lol..or could use it to take money off of my friends..how much you wanna bet I can jump this cleanly and make that ball? 😆
 
There is no rule against it. You can also get reverse masse/swerve in a situation like that -- curve to the left with right sidespin.
 
  • Like
Reactions: bbb
There is no rule against it. You can also get reverse masse/swerve in a situation like that -- curve to the left with right sidespin.
If it does break a rule I can’t figure out which one. Of course you have to be playing on a table with leather drop pockets, but my home table actually does. Can’t wait to pull that one out of the hat! Of course I will probably screw it up.
 
If it does break a rule I can’t figure out which one. Of course you have to be playing on a table with leather drop pockets, but my home table actually does. Can’t wait to pull that one out of the hat! Of course I will probably screw it up.
In the meantime, make a video of the reverse masse shot for us. (y) :D
 
Per BCA rules,,,,,,,,

3.26 ILLEGAL JUMPING OF BALL
It is a foul if a player strikes the cue ball below center (“digs under” or “lofts” the cue ball) and intentionally causes it to rise off the bed of the table in an effort to clear an obstructing ball. Such jumping action may occasionally occur accidentally, and such “jumps” are not to be considered fouls on their face; they may still be ruled foul strokes, if for example, the ferrule or cue shaft makes contact with the cue ball in the course of the shot.
 
Per BCA rules,,,,,,,,

3.26 ILLEGAL JUMPING OF BALL
It is a foul if a player strikes the cue ball below center (“digs under” or “lofts” the cue ball) and intentionally causes it to rise off the bed of the table in an effort to clear an obstructing ball. Such jumping action may occasionally occur accidentally, and such “jumps” are not to be considered fouls on their face; they may still be ruled foul strokes, if for example, the ferrule or cue shaft makes contact with the cue ball in the course of the shot.
Bummer. New house rule: this jump is allowed.
 
Per BCA rules,,,,,,,,

3.26 ILLEGAL JUMPING OF BALL
It is a foul if a player strikes the cue ball below center (“digs under” or “lofts” the cue ball) and intentionally causes it to rise off the bed of the table in an effort to clear an obstructing ball. Such jumping action may occasionally occur accidentally, and such “jumps” are not to be considered fouls on their face; they may still be ruled foul strokes, if for example, the ferrule or cue shaft makes contact with the cue ball in the course of the shot.
And to add to this, from rules of Chinese 8-ball I found online: "Usually a legal jump shot is played by elevating the cue stick, hitting the upper half of the cue ball and driving the cue ball down into the playing surface from which it rebounds."

 
And to add to this, from rules of Chinese 8-ball I found online: "Usually a legal jump shot is played by elevating the cue stick, hitting the upper half of the cue ball and driving the cue ball down into the playing surface from which it rebounds."

yeah, the very next rule after this one defines what a Legal Jump Shot is. This particular shot has nothing to do with a legal shot.
 
Per BCA rules,,,,,,,,

3.26 ILLEGAL JUMPING OF BALL
It is a foul if a player strikes the cue ball below center (“digs under” or “lofts” the cue ball) and intentionally causes it to rise off the bed of the table in an effort to clear an obstructing ball. Such jumping action may occasionally occur accidentally, and such “jumps” are not to be considered fouls on their face; they may still be ruled foul strokes, if for example, the ferrule or cue shaft makes contact with the cue ball in the course of the shot.
Is it considered jumping if the CB does not leave the table (any more so than when CB is used on a break shot and flies most of the distance between striking point and impact point) ??
 
Back
Top