Joss Inlay Fabrication

Biloxi Boy

Man With A Golden Arm
I would like to know how this inlay was fabricated and applied.

Joss Butt Large.jpg

Thanks

Biloxi Boy

Man With A Golden Arm
Thanks for looking at this and posting.

I have no real base of knowledge or vocabulary. I have worked with wood all of my life, but my area of exposure ends at framing. I have been trying to figure out "how was the inlay made" and "how was this applied to cue" since I bought this cue over fifteen years ago. My comments should be given little weight. The more I look and analyze, the less I know.

When I trace a perimeter of a triangle, the treatment at each intersection alternates between two: solid (run) or cut (butt). This is what causes me to think "interlaced".

Last edited:

aphelps1

Phelps Custom Cues
Silver Member
Each triangle is made up of 3 inlay parts. Also each triangle was cut from one slab of wood so the grain structure runs continuous throughout each triangle. The six inlays fit together in such a way that they give the illusion of the wood weaving over and under its self. Hope this helps.

Alan
Phelps Custom Cues

Biloxi Boy

Man With A Golden Arm
Each triangle is made up of 3 inlay parts. Also each triangle was cut from one slab of wood so the grain structure runs continuous throughout each triangle. The six inlays fit together in such a way that they give the illusion of the wood weaving over and under its self. Hope this helps.

Alan
Phelps Custom Cues
This makes sense. Thanks, How is it incorporated into the butt?

DeeDeeCues

This makes sense. Thanks, How is it incorporated into the butt?

The maple bits are cut from a piece of maple. The black butt gets pockets milled into it. The maple bits are the same size and shape as the pockets in the black butt. Some dude then puts glue into the pockets in the black butt and taps the maple pieces into the pockets. The glue dries and the maple pieces are turned or sanded flush with the black butt.