I have a question about legal hits in various situations where OB/CB are frozen to rails. For purpose of clarification I am asking only about BCAPL and WPA rules. There are three situations that I am thinking about. The first two are pretty clear in the rules but I am not sure about the third. See Wei table below
1. Situation 1 - OB frozen to rail/CB not
To get legal hit, after CB contact with OB, 1)some ball must be pocketed, or 2) CB hit any rail or 3) OB or any other ball hit any of the other 3 rails that the OB was not frozen to
2. Situation 2 - OB and CB frozen to same rail
To get legal hit after CB contact with OB, 1) some ball must be pocketed or 2) CB or OB or any other ball must contact one of the other 3 rails that theOB/CB were not frozen to or 3) OB or CB can leave the rail frozen to, contact a third ball(like the 6 ball on the table) and come back to contact the same rail again.
In this one, BCAPL rules are very clear about the third way to get the legal hit, but WPA is not as far as I can tell. BCAPL clearly states that contact must be made with third ball and then come back to rail. WPA only states that if ball leaves the rail and then comes back to contact, that is OK. A literal reading of that wold mean that if the OB drifted 1/16" off the rail and then rolled back to contact again, the hit would be legal. I am not sure if that is the intent or not?
3. Situation 3 - OB frozen to rail, CB frozen to OB but not to the rail
This one i am not clear on at all and cannot find a direct reference on the rules. I seem to recall in the distant past a discussion about this and something saying to the effect that if the OB is frozen to the rail and the CB frozen to the OB, then the CB is assumed to be frozen to the rail also, and the rule would be the same as situation 2 above. However that may just be a dream.
Does anybody know for sure what the rule is in this case?
I hope we can hold this thread to a discussion of what the rules are and not what they should be or why they are bad.
1. Situation 1 - OB frozen to rail/CB not
To get legal hit, after CB contact with OB, 1)some ball must be pocketed, or 2) CB hit any rail or 3) OB or any other ball hit any of the other 3 rails that the OB was not frozen to
2. Situation 2 - OB and CB frozen to same rail
To get legal hit after CB contact with OB, 1) some ball must be pocketed or 2) CB or OB or any other ball must contact one of the other 3 rails that theOB/CB were not frozen to or 3) OB or CB can leave the rail frozen to, contact a third ball(like the 6 ball on the table) and come back to contact the same rail again.
In this one, BCAPL rules are very clear about the third way to get the legal hit, but WPA is not as far as I can tell. BCAPL clearly states that contact must be made with third ball and then come back to rail. WPA only states that if ball leaves the rail and then comes back to contact, that is OK. A literal reading of that wold mean that if the OB drifted 1/16" off the rail and then rolled back to contact again, the hit would be legal. I am not sure if that is the intent or not?
3. Situation 3 - OB frozen to rail, CB frozen to OB but not to the rail
This one i am not clear on at all and cannot find a direct reference on the rules. I seem to recall in the distant past a discussion about this and something saying to the effect that if the OB is frozen to the rail and the CB frozen to the OB, then the CB is assumed to be frozen to the rail also, and the rule would be the same as situation 2 above. However that may just be a dream.
Does anybody know for sure what the rule is in this case?
I hope we can hold this thread to a discussion of what the rules are and not what they should be or why they are bad.