The World Standardized rule (4.3) concerning opening break shot requirements is poorly written. It does not specifically state that pocketing a called ball satisfies the opening break requirements nor does it state that the cue ball must contact an object ball before at least two object balls and the cue ball must contact a rail or rails if a called object ball is not pocketed. The opening break shot requirements are more correctly stated in the BCAPL Rule book (rule 6.3).
This is my question. If you call that you intend to pocket a ball, do you still have to fulfill the requirement of driving 2 balls plus the cue ball to a rail? If I interpret the World rules correctly, instead of breaking safe, you can just call any ball and freeze the cue ball to the stack without penalty. I'm trying to find a link to the BCAPL rules right now.
UPDATE: It looks like the BCA rule states it more clearly...
1. You begin the opening break with cue ball in hand behind the head string. You must:
a. pocket a called ball in a called pocket or;
b. cause the cue ball to contact an object ball and, after that contact, cause the cue ball and at least two object balls to contact one or more cushions.
In other words, if you (a) pocket a ball in a called pocket, you are OK, or else (b) applies whether you call a shot or not.
Oh well, so much for my new strategy of calling a shot and freezing the cue ball to the head ball. I would have loved to see the look on RonF's face when I played that. ;P