Never Seen This Before

TheBook said:
I am confused here. You could not push. So you shot at the 2 slow rolling it into the 8 making the 1 but leaving a 2 - 8 combo but also hid the CB. If you could not push than you made a illegal hit. Therefore your opponent would now have ball in hand.

The TD ruled the pushout legal.
 
buck15 said:
scratch on the break and incoming player has ball in hand.the 1 is unmakeable,ya tap the cue ball,commiting a foul and the other player,the one that flew off the table now has ball in hand.he would be the first to 3 foul if he did the same thing.same thing happened to me and i remember it well.about 20 years ago when i was young an just started playing,i was in a tournament and was playing billy burge"cornbread red".he broke,the 1 was unmakeable,it sat in the corner and another ball was in front of it,he commited an intensional foul,and i tried some crazy crap to try and make it.he knew my exp. was not there.needless to say,i learned that lesson real fast.he exsplained it after.he was a hell of a guy.years later we gambled,after a few years of "training".he gave me a nickname of detroit.wich is funny cause i didn't play out of detroit.thanks.


As stated in my original post....there was no 3 foul rule in this tourney. We could have just handed each other CB in hand all day long.

Southpaw
 
Southpaw said:
As stated in my original post....there was no 3 foul rule in this tourney. We could have just handed each other CB in hand all day long.

Southpaw

I guess if a TD decides to do away with the 3-foul rule, then they should probably add a stalemate rule for situations like this; if it's impossible to make a legal hit on the ball with bih, then just re-rack and start over. What's not to like about the 3-foul rule, though? Just curious if anyone asked the TD why it was not in use for the tourney.
 
Here comes the judgement.



hint: reread rule # 5.6 !!! (reread all of it...lol, even the last sentence)



Ok here it is...



After a player scratches on the break shot, the incoming player cannot play a push out.




5.6 PUSH OUT
The player who shoots the shot immediately after a legal break may play a push out in an attempt to move the cue ball into a better position for the option that follows. On a push out, the cue ball is not required to con-tact any object ball nor any rail, but all other foul rules still apply. The player must announce the intention of playing a push out before the shot, or the shot is considered to be a normal shot. Any ball pocketed on a push out does not count and remains pocketed except the 9-ball. Following a legal push out, the incoming player is permitted to shoot from that position or to pass the shot back to the player who pushed out. A push out is not considered to be a foul as long as no rule (except rules 5.8 and 5.9) is violated. An illegal push out is penalized according to the type of foul committed. After a player scratches on the break shot, the incoming player cannot play a push out.

the above rule was taken from the bca-pool site listed below.

http://www.bca-pool.com/play/tournaments/rules/rls_9bl.shtml
 
im a certified refree so heres the rule....YOU CAN NOT PUSH OUT WITH BALL IN HAND....YOU CAN ONLY PUSH OUT IF THERE IS NO FOUL ON THE BREAK...SO IF I BREAK AND SCRACTH MY OPPONENT HAS NO OPTION TO PUSH OUT....thats why you need to play the 3 foul rule cause his break was a foul and you could have just hit the cue ball any where on the table and make him break it out cause he will get to 3 fouls before you do because of the break....
hope this helps a little
 
If we were using the BCA rules:

The player breaking is really stuck after the break shot :confused: ... he/she has 2 options.

1. If there is already a problem area then it is a lot easier. Hit the 8 into the 1 and hope the opponent can't run out or play a great safety on you.

2. If there is no problem area you have to create one by tying up 2 balls and then hitting the 8 to make the 1, all in the same shot (you're odds don't look good).:eek:

LOL

I hope #1 is available.
 
what kind of tournament.

was the tournament also spotting all balls on the break and a foul?was it incoming player has option ,like in a ring game?sound like some rules were changed with not a whole lot of thought,and if that was the case,i would still be there taping the cue ball back and forth.lol.
 
GADawg said:
TJ

Follow link below to World Standardized 9 ball rules. Everything is explained reasonably clearly.

http://www.bca-pool.com/play/tournaments/rules/rls_9bl.shtml

Thanks for the information.

Just one more question---If in the process of breaking I touch the cue ball with the cue tip and it goes over the line, is this a foul and do I loose my turn? Or if the cue ball jumps off the table without hitting any balls?
 
Tennesseejoe said:
... If in the process of breaking I touch the cue ball with the cue tip and it goes over the line, is this a foul and do I loose my turn? Or if the cue ball jumps off the table without hitting any balls?
Any contact between tip and ball (from a forward stroking motion) constitutes a shot. It does not matter in nine ball whether the cue ball goes over the line. You have fouled and the other player has ball in hand.
 
there is no rule in the book that after an opponent is done shooting that I cant throw a drink at him/her. Or by chance their face encounters my fists.

what kinda of girlie pool is it when people say you cant do?
 
Back
Top