One pocket question

In one pocket, if i am running out and make my opponent's 8th ball but have not missed, is the game over?
If you still need more after that shot, you have lost. If you make both winning balls on the same shot, you win. Both of these are only possible with some spots, like 8-6.
 
Last edited:
It sure sounds like you're describing a standard 8-8 game because you say "my opponets 8th ball". So unless you are using more than 15 balls...
 
If the ball is already spotted, the game is the same as 8-8. I think the game has to be short (8-7, 8-6) for there to be a "who wins?" problem.
Exactly, and I have heard as both ways:

1) Opponent Wins immediately

2) Opponent Wins at the start of their inning

If you pocket a ball in each pocket and you can still win, I don't see why you would lose immediately, especially if you need weight. For that particular rationale, I prefer method 2 above.
 
Exactly, and I have heard as both ways:

1) Opponent Wins immediately

2) Opponent Wins at the start of their inning

If you pocket a ball in each pocket and you can still win, I don't see why you would lose immediately, especially if you need weight. For that particular rationale, I prefer method 2 above.
The closest thing we have to universal, official rules for one pocket are on onepocket.org. By those, you do not continue if your opponent has reached his required score. I have never seen the situation played any other way, but it comes up rarely.
 
Actually it could happen with any spot
lets say i am spotting you 12-8
you make 7and leave a ball hanging in your jaws
i start running out and make your ball along the way
once you get to 8 you win and the shooter loses
if i make your ball #8 and pocket my ball # 12 on the same stroke
ie your game winner and my game winner on the same shot...I win
No, because at 12-8 the better player just starts at -4

By the time they get to the last ball on the table, both players only need 1
 
The closest thing we have to universal, official rules for one pocket are on onepocket.org. By those, you do not continue if your opponent has reached his required score. I have never seen the situation played any other way, but it comes up rarely.
The argument I heard once made me laugh.

"You're not allowed to score your ball until the end of my inning, sit down" and then the shooter ran out

I can see the wisdom in either path
 
No, because at 12-8 the better player just starts at -4

By the time they get to the last ball on the table, both players only need 1
Playing 12-8 the better player owes four balls and then has to go to eight. So after the owed balls are spotted its an even game, 8-8.
 
If the ball is already spotted, the game is the same as 8-8. I think the game has to be short (8-7, 8-6) for there to be a "who wins?" problem.
Bob is right
i was wrong and deleted my post
the main idea is if i make my winning ball and your winning ball with one stroke ....I WIN!!!!
if i make your winning ball BEFORE i make my winning ball YOU WIN !!!!!
 
Bob is right
i was wrong and deleted my post
the main idea is if i make my winning ball and your winning ball with one stroke ....I WIN!!!!
if i make your winning ball BEFORE i make my winning ball YOU WIN !!!!!
Correct. In your second example above if the score was 11-7 after owed balls are spotted there would only be one ball left on the table. Like Bob said, in games where ball count total is less than 16 could your scenario happen.
 
Last edited:
  • Like
Reactions: bbb
Back
Top