Here's a question that came up, and I really am not sure of the answer.
On the opening break you fail to drive two object balls to the rail. We know that this is a two point foul, the incoming player has the option to take the table as it lies, or demand a re-break. And ... this foul does not count toward the 3 foul rule.
Now add to this scenario, that the cue ball scratches as well.
Is the offending player immune to the single point foul that would put him on 1 foul and count toward 3 fouls, or does his opponent have an option to charge him with a one point foul for the scratch rather than taking the two points for the OBs failing to hit the rails?
On the opening break you fail to drive two object balls to the rail. We know that this is a two point foul, the incoming player has the option to take the table as it lies, or demand a re-break. And ... this foul does not count toward the 3 foul rule.
Now add to this scenario, that the cue ball scratches as well.
Is the offending player immune to the single point foul that would put him on 1 foul and count toward 3 fouls, or does his opponent have an option to charge him with a one point foul for the scratch rather than taking the two points for the OBs failing to hit the rails?