Common sense rule book for APA? Good luck with that!And again, if you’re the type that would actually CALL a foul on someone for not marking an obvious pocket, I think you need to find a PRO league, or not play in this type of league, in general. I wish people would use the “common sense” rulebook, instead of trying to pick out 4 sub sections, and try to interpret the letter of the law. The reason the rulebook is so convoluted is because the vast majority of players don’t know how to use the common sense rulebook.
If the cue ball was going to scratch, and the 4 blocked it, then we have an issue to discuss. If the 4 ball was moved 2” by a cueball that came into contact with it, that wasn’t going to scratch, I give them the win. I want to beat my opponent on the table, not with Rule 9.11.2 of the league manual.
Sure appears to me that, between 15 g-i, the situation described by OP is a foul.
Well, yes, but.... The wording is lousy. The eight was pocketed AND THEN the cue ball was fouled. Technically the foul on the cue ball must occur before the eight is pocketed. But I know what they meant. :grin-square:
According to you, he made a grave mistake. According to me, the OP isn't telling the full story. The APA is an amateur league. AMATEUR. People on the thread keep referring to pro rules. There are cueball fouls only, no object ball fouls. And they're trying to apply other rules to this. I would want to know where the cueball was going. Was it going to scratch, and the other ball blocked it? Or, did it just run into the 4, with no harm, because the cueball wasn't even near a pocket?
I error on the side of common sense. If the only reason you think they should lose comes down to them accidentally disturbing a ball because of an inadvertent mistake, leagues probably aren't your cup of tea. Again, my opinion only.
But there was no cue ball foul.
Let's say I was playing you. I am shooting the 8 ball. I shoot and make the 8 ball, but a guy that's behind me bumps into me, and my cue nudges the 7 ball into the cueball, gently, but it stops the cueball - even though the cue ball wasn't going to scratch. Would you argue your point so passionately with me? The word "accidentally" doesn't come with conditions, so I'd love to hear your opinion.
There’s a massive difference between you and your lack of motor control causing a foul. Versus something uncontrolled causing a foul. In the situation you described, if someone else causes me to foul the cue ball after the shot was taken. The only recourse should be to replay the shot. Which isn’t the case for the OP. We all know you got a hardon for bashing the APA but this is getting silly.
Sorry but you’re wrong. As long as the cue ball is still moving, the shot is considered live. It’s a foul no matter what. What if the cue ball was actually going to a pocket and the object ball got moved to prevent a scratch?
If I have a cue ball going for a pocket, by your logic, I can ‘accidently’ move an object ball to block the scratch and it’s not a foul.
The disturbed object ball hitting the cue ball creates the cue ball foul. Is anyone even paying attention anymore? Are you all just jerking your own horns to argue?
No passion. It's either rules or no rules or a long discussion and agreement before each game begins as to what rules will, and what rules won't, apply. If no rules, then why can't a player just pick a ball up and pocket it and claim he made it? Hell, why would a ball have to go in pocket if we have no rules? You have to have rules to play a game.
If rhe rules are unclear, fix them. As written, the rules create a reasonable expectation that the scenario described should have resulted in a loss of the game.
Not a member of APA but can read, analyze, and apply.
Whitey is immortal. The cue ball is always live.
Intentional or accidental, disturbing or touching the cue ball against anything, even accidentally dropping the chalk on or rolls into the cue ball, it's a foul.
The win should not have been awarded.
There should be an "outside interference" rule. I did not find one upon a quick review.
But, look at it this "common sense" way: the player committed no foul: the player did not "cause" anything. The person who bumped committed or caused.