Question about 10 Ball

RogerChambers

Straight Pool
Silver Member
I need some help in settling a very minor dispute on the rules of 10 Ball and since I don't have a rule book handy, I am soliciting your help.

Scenario: Opponent is at the table and chooses a combination shot -- the two ball into the six ball to the corner pocket. We realize it is a call pocket game and he called the Six. He made contact with the two but the two ball failed to make contact with the six ball. The cue ball struck a rail after contacting the two ball.

Another player watching the match said it was a foul because his intention was to pocket the six ball and failed to hit the six ball. I feel and said that it was not a foul because he made contact with the lowest number ball (2 Ball) and met the requirements of a legal shot (at least in 9 Ball). What is the ruling on this?

We play at a friendly pool hall and just continued to play as if it were a legal shot; however, the question still lingers. If it is a foul, then is it in the catagory of an Option Foul or Ball in Hand?

We are not losing any sleep over this but could you provide some info on the ruling? :)
 
From the WPA website:
9.8 Continuing Play
If the shooter legally pockets a called/nominated ball on a shot (except a push out, see 9.4 Second Shot of the Rack – Push Out), any additional balls pocketed remain pocketed (except the ten ball; see 9.9 Spotting Balls), and he continues at the table for the next shot. If he legally pockets the called ten ball on any shot (except a push out), he wins the rack. If the shooter fails to pocket the called ball or fouls, play passes to the other player, and if no foul was committed, the incoming player must play the
cue ball from the position left by the other player.

Under the rules for the Predator Tour, a missed, called shot gives the incoming player the option to take the shot or pass it back to his opponent.

Under WPA rules what you describe would not be considered a foul, if I read the rules correctly.

It would depend on just what rules you were playing. 10 ball is a call shot game, by either rule set.
 
I need some help in settling a very minor dispute on the rules of 10 Ball and since I don't have a rule book handy, I am soliciting your help.

Scenario: Opponent is at the table and chooses a combination shot -- the two ball into the six ball to the corner pocket. We realize it is a call pocket game and he called the Six. He made contact with the two but the two ball failed to make contact with the six ball. The cue ball struck a rail after contacting the two ball.

Another player watching the match said it was a foul because his intention was to pocket the six ball and failed to hit the six ball. I feel and said that it was not a foul because he made contact with the lowest number ball (2 Ball) and met the requirements of a legal shot (at least in 9 Ball). What is the ruling on this?

We play at a friendly pool hall and just continued to play as if it were a legal shot; however, the question still lingers. If it is a foul, then is it in the catagory of an Option Foul or Ball in Hand?

We are not losing any sleep over this but could you provide some info on the ruling? :)

this is not a foul ....

but how about if he called the six and two and the six went in?
does that player continue or not. and if not is it the incoming players option?
 
Orrr.....

What if the guy called the 2-6 combo, missed the 6 with the 2, but the cue ball followed forward and made the 6? Legal shot?
 
Orrr.....

What if the guy called the 2-6 combo, missed the 6 with the 2, but the cue ball followed forward and made the 6? Legal shot?

Yes as I believe it is "pocket call". How you make the shot is irrelevant as long as the lowest numbered ball is contacted first and the "called" ball goes in the intended pocket.
 
Ask that same guy if you are allowed to move the cue ball a cue butt's length away from the rail.
 
Back
Top