Question about the 3 Fouls Rule

dabarbr said:
I'm also waiting to hear this one. Maybe we'll learn something here.

Sorry didn't see this till now. Technically, you could still have a 3 foul if the opponent did that (not shoot out of the kitchen).

If the cue ball scratches, the incoming player has BiH behind the head string. That cue ball must travel past the head string, otherwise you could just tap it in the jaws of the top pocket. To do so is an unsportsmanlike conduct. I guess that really doesn't nullify the 1st player's fouls, so maybe I stated that incorrectly.
 
A weekly tournament I play in... it seems most of the players do not understand this rule. Most of the players play only apa and I guess they dont use it in the apa??? On top of not really knowing the rules, they dont speak much english. So when I say, "you are on two fouls"... they dont understand what I said and get down and foul again. Then when I win... they get pissed and say, "that was only two". Very frustrating.

So everytime I foul... they are quick to say, "That's 1".
 
OneArmed said:
Sorry didn't see this till now. Technically, you could still have a 3 foul if the opponent did that (not shoot out of the kitchen).

If the cue ball scratches, the incoming player has BiH behind the head string. That cue ball must travel past the head string, otherwise you could just tap it in the jaws of the top pocket. To do so is an unsportsmanlike conduct. I guess that really doesn't nullify the 1st player's fouls, so maybe I stated that incorrectly.

You did state it incorrectly. The simple rule is that whenever a player commits his third consecutive foul (after being warned appropriately that he's "on two") the game is over. Whatever happens after that third foul is irrelevant.

pj
chgo
 
As noted under rule 6.11 of the WPA-Pool.com World Standard Rules,
You cannot take the cue ball and put it into the jaws of the corner pocket and 'tap it up'. Any foul by the shooter from behind the head string is BIH for the incoming player.

6.11 Bad Play from Behind the Head String

When the cue ball is in hand behind the head string, and the first ball the cue ball contacts is also behind the head string, the shot is a foul unless the cue ball crosses the head string before that contact. If such a shot is intentional, it is unsportsmanlike conduct.

The cue ball must either cross the head string or contact a ball in front of or on the head string or the shot is a foul, and the cue ball is in hand for the following player according to the rules of the specific game.



OneArmed said:
Sorry didn't see this till now. Technically, you could still have a 3 foul if the opponent did that (not shoot out of the kitchen).

If the cue ball scratches, the incoming player has BiH behind the head string. That cue ball must travel past the head string, otherwise you could just tap it in the jaws of the top pocket. To do so is an unsportsmanlike conduct. I guess that really doesn't nullify the 1st player's fouls, so maybe I stated that incorrectly.
 
Sorry to bump this thread, but my friend still insists that he is right (he wants to lay money on it). Has ANYONE played ANY tournament where the non fouling player MUST NOT pocket a ball after the other player's first and second fouls for the 3-foul rule to be valid? Thanks.
 
Vinnie said:
Sorry to bump this thread, but my friend still insists that he is right (he wants to lay money on it). Has ANYONE played ANY tournament where the non fouling player MUST NOT pocket a ball after the other player's first and second fouls for the 3-foul rule to be valid? Thanks.

ask him to show you some official rules that say that. makes no difference what the other player does.

sounds like another " Well, my buddy who plays on a team over at Harry's bar told me that. He's a pretty good player so it must be true." Most of the rules "experts" I run into have never actually read the rules.

I was watching some guys play in a bar a couple years ago and they did something I had never seen. If the cue ball stopped close to a rail the shooter would pick it up and move it away the distance equal to one diameter of the butt on the cue.

I asked about it and they swore it was a rule that you could do that because it is too hard to shoot when the CB is too close to the cushion. I smiled, nodded my head, said "thanks" and walked away.
 
Last edited:
GADawg said:
...

I was watching some guys play in a bar a couple years ago and they did something I had never seen. If the cue ball stopped close to a rail the shooter would pick it up and move it away the distance equal to one diameter of the butt on the cue.

I asked about it and they swore it was a rule that you could do that because it is too hard to shoot when the CB is too close to the cushion. I smiled, nodded my head, said "thanks" and walked away.

LOL! That sounds like putt-putt!
 
Vinnie said:
LOL! That sounds like putt-putt!

Exactly. People will come up with all sorts of crazy rules that they really believe just because some guy told them. They have no clue what they are talking about, but, if they have been drinking, is best to just walk away. These particular guys asked me if I wanted to play. I declined and said I was waiting to meet my friend,
 
enzo said:
i have a question on top of the posters question:

if you are sitting in your chair, and the guy shoots at his second possible foul, misses the ball, and you yell out "That's two" or "your on two" and he says ok, then you proceed to hook him again and you dont SAY ANYTHING AS HE APPROACHES THE TABLE FOR HIS POTENTIAL THIRD FOUL, this would NOT techinically be loss of game, right. YOU MUST tell the guy when he is coming to the table on his potential third foul (not right after he makes his second foul)???? is this technically correct, it seems to be according to the wording of the rule.

To my knowledge (and I do not claim to be an expert), you just need them to acknowledge that it's their second foul. It is, IMO, better to wait until they are going back to the table to shoot before reminding them so it's fresh in their head, but I was once called an a$$hole for doing that. Apparently the guy wanted to know that as he was sitting down, so this may come down to personal preference. But again, as far as I know, you just need to inform them, coming back from the second or going up for the 3rd.
 
When you say you catch a 20" fish, you have to show the fish in order to prove it.

He's the one making the claim. He's obligated to show some documentation in order to back it up. Otherwise he's full of crap.
 
Back
Top