Question on a nine ball break miscue

karambolista

noypi toits
Silver Member
While breaking in 9 ball, what would be the rule if a player slightly tapped the cue ball (without passing the headstring) and then continues to hit the cue ball and breaks the rack.

Should it be a re-rack or ball-in-hand for the incoming player?
 
Some rules state that the game starts when the CB passes the headstring. In that case it is nothing.

Other rules state the game begins when the rack is hit.

Convention in most places is for the player to shoot again.

Other rules give the option to the opponent.

Simple answer is to check the rules with the TD in the tournament you are playing.

Jake
 
Ive seen arguments over this quite a bit. Ive seen this played a number of ways with mostly the breaking player just playing as if no foul occurred. Other times its practically a rugby scrum between the two players as to whose turn it is and who has the ball.
 
In 9 Ball under World Standard rules.
The game starts when the cue tip hits the cue ball.
In the OLD days the game didn't start until the ONE ball was hit. This was mostly a house rule. I don't ever remember seeing this in print in any rule book.

The cue ball must cross the headstring is a 14.1 rule when the shooter has ball in hand behind the headstring. Their shot does not start until the cue ball passes the headstring.
 
rule says...

I got these here:

http://www.bca-pool.com/play/tournaments/rules/rls_gen.shtml

3.8 CUE BALL ON OPENING BREAK
The opening break shot is taken with cue ball in hand behind the head string. The object balls are positioned according to specific game rules. On the opening break, the game is considered to have commenced once the cue ball has been struck by the cue tip

3.9 DEFLECTING THE CUE BALL ON THE GAME’S OPENING BREAK
On the break shot, stopping or deflecting the cue ball after it has crossed the head string and prior to hitting the racked balls is considered a foul and loss of turn. The opponent has the option of receiving cue ball in hand behind the head string or passing the cue ball in hand behind the head string back to the offending player. (Exception: 9-Ball, see rule 5.3: “cue ball in hand anywhere on the table”). A warning must be given that a second violation during the match will result in the loss of the match by forfeiture. (See Rule 3.28.)

===================================
OK, now the exception for 9-ball is here:
http://www.bca-pool.com/play/tournaments/rules/rls_9bl.shtml

...but I think they mean 5.4 (so I copied both)...

=======================================

5.3 ORDER OF BREAK
Winner of the lag has the option to break. In 9-Ball, the winner of each game breaks in the next, unless otherwise specified by the tournament organizer. The following are common options that may be designated by tournament officials in advance:

(a) Players alternate break.

(b) Loser breaks.

(c) Player trailing in game count breaks the next game.



5.4 LEGAL BREAK SHOT
The rules governing the break shot are the same as for other shots except:



1. The breaker must strike the1-ball first and either pocket a ball or drive at least four numbered balls to the rail.

2. If the cue ball is pocketed or driven off the table, or the requirements of the opening break are not met, it is a foul, and the incoming player has cue ball in hand anywhere on the table.

3. If on the break shot, the breaker causes an object ball to jump off the table, it is a foul and the incoming player has cue ball in hand anywhere on the table. The object ball is not re-spotted (exception: if the object ball is the 9-ball, it is re-spotted).

=============================================

So, I make it that in all games OTHER THAN 9-ball, the game starts when the cue-ball has been struck by the tip; if the requirements for a legal break are not met, then the opponent has the option.

In 9-ball, it appears you have to hit the 1-ball for the game to begin, so I make it that if you haven't hit the 1-ball, the game hasn't begun, UNLESS the CB is pocketed or off the table - in which case the opponent has BIH.

What doesn't seem to be very well-covered is the case where the CB hits some ball other than the 1-ball. By definition, the game wouldn't have started, but also the requirements for a legal break wouldn't have been met...
If you interpret this as the game hasn't started, then I would think it is re-rack and do-over for the breaker; If you interpret this a failure to meet the requirements of the break shot, then it would be the opponent has BIH.

In other words, these rules don't seem all that clear to me! No wonder there are arguments over this one!
 
karambolista said:
While breaking in 9 ball, what would be the rule if a player slightly tapped the cue ball (without passing the headstring) and then continues to hit the cue ball and breaks the rack.

Should it be a re-rack or ball-in-hand for the incoming player?

I saw this happen yesterday, the guy slightyly tap the cue ball then quickly proceed to break the rack and makes the 9 ball. The oponent insisted that the 9-ball be spotted cause the breaker double hit the cue ball but the breaker insisted that it was a legal hit. They end up re-racking it but the breaker was acting like it was no big deal cause he's still going to win.

I like the rule that the game starts after hitting the cue ball, so as to minimize the arguments.
 
Cardinal2B said:
What doesn't seem to be very well-covered is the case where the CB hits some ball other than the 1-ball. By definition, the game wouldn't have started, but also the requirements for a legal break wouldn't have been met...

by definition, the game starts when your cue tip strikes the cue ball

After the cue tip meets the cue ball, breaking conditions have to be met or it is considered A FOUL, incoming player has BIH

Remember, in 9 Ball, you must always hit the lowest numbered ball on the table or it is a foul

I don't recall any 'do overs' in tournament conditions.
Friendly games, yes, but then who cares about rules?




If you interpret this as the game hasn't started, then I would think it is re-rack and do-over for the breaker; If you interpret this a failure to meet the requirements of the break shot, then it would be the opponent has BIH.

In other words, these rules don't seem all that clear to me! No wonder there are arguments over this one!

You copied the rules, the answer(s) is/are there.
 
Last edited:
Interesting - Was it like a double hit?

I mean did the player accidentally tap the cue-ball forward and then whilst it was still moving, hurriedly play the shot? If so, although the game technically may not start until the headstring has been passed/or the one ball has been struck, the overriding factor may be that the player has actually fouled by effectively playing two shots!
 
Big Dave said:
Interesting - Was it like a double hit?

I mean did the player accidentally tap the cue-ball forward and then whilst it was still moving, hurriedly play the shot? If so, although the game technically may not start until the headstring has been passed/or the one ball has been struck, the overriding factor may be that the player has actually fouled by effectively playing two shots!

Yeah, that's exactly what he did.
 
Back
Top