question on rules

ceodynamo

Have cue will travel
Silver Member
if the cueball is frozen to an object ball and you hit the cue ball away from the object ball and the cue ball hits a rail is this a legal shot?

Away from the cue ball - meaning moving off the frozen ball not moving the object ball at all?

Since the cue ball and object ball were frozen at the beginning of the shot is this still legal. I had an old timer try and pull this move on me. I let him get away with it too.
 
if the cueball is frozen to an object ball and you hit the cue ball away from the object ball and the cue ball hits a rail is this a legal shot?

Away from the cue ball - meaning moving off the frozen ball not moving the object ball at all?

Since the cue ball and object ball were frozen at the beginning of the shot is this still legal. I had an old timer try and pull this move on me. I let him get away with it too.

I think this was in the rules as a good hit at some point, maybe only in certain games though, but I don't think this is a valid rule anymore.

I could swear I read this as rule when I started playing in the late 80s, although that may have been an out-dated rule back then also.

Going along with this is the rule what if the object ball is frozen to a rail, the cueball has to hit ANOTHER rail for it to be a legal hit, not just tick that ball and hit the same rail that it's frozen to. I think that rule is also not in the books any more but I definately read that as well at some point.
 
thank you for the reply

I think this was in the rules as a good hit at some point, maybe only in certain games though, but I don't think this is a valid rule anymore.

I could swear I read this as rule when I started playing in the late 80s, although that may have been an out-dated rule back then also.

Going along with this is the rule what if the object ball is frozen to a rail, the cueball has to hit ANOTHER rail for it to be a legal hit, not just tick that ball and hit the same rail that it's frozen to. I think that rule is also not in the books any more but I definately read that as well at some point.

Thanks again for the reply. I think I can answer your question however.

If an object ball is frozen to a rail than that rail is dead to the object ball however if the cue ball strikes that rail after contact with the object ball that is frozen it is a legal shot.
 
The object ball has to be contacted for it to be a legal shot. The shot you're describing is not legal, as the player is shooting away from the ball it's frozen to. You still have to contact the lowest ball on the table, the ball you're frozen to, for it to be a legal 9 ball shot. Shooting away from the ball is a foul, no matter how many rails he hits with the cueball, if he fails to contact the object ball. It was a foul.
 
Thanks again for the reply. I think I can answer your question however.

If an object ball is frozen to a rail than that rail is dead to the object ball however if the cue ball strikes that rail after contact with the object ball that is frozen it is a legal shot.

That was not a question but a comment about a rule that was similar to your question. At some point I read about the rule where if you shoot away from a frozen ball, it counts as a contact to that ball, I also read at some point that if the ball if frozen to the rail, the cueball needs to go to a second rail after contact. The rules now at least don't say that, same rail contact is fine.

Someone asked if this was in snooker, so I guess that is a legal shot in snooker but not pool.
 
This is in the WPA rules

"Playing away from a frozen ball does not constitute having hit that ball unless specified in the rules of the game."

Seems like there are some games that have that rule, but I don't know which.

I think when I read this rule 20 years ago they were talking about 14.1
 
perfect

This is in the WPA rules

"Playing away from a frozen ball does not constitute having hit that ball unless specified in the rules of the game."

Seems like there are some games that have that rule, but I don't know which.

I think when I read this rule 20 years ago they were talking about 14.1

Thanks again for your input, I really appreciate the feed back.

And yes the cue ball was frozen to the lowest number ball on the table.
 
if the cueball is frozen to an object ball and you hit the cue ball away from the object ball and the cue ball hits a rail is this a legal shot?

Away from the cue ball - meaning moving off the frozen ball not moving the object ball at all?

Since the cue ball and object ball were frozen at the beginning of the shot is this still legal. I had an old timer try and pull this move on me. I let him get away with it too.

Rail ball rail RBR or Ball Rail B/R are the only two legal ways to shoot when you strike the cue ball first with the tip of the cue.
 
Thanks again for your input, I really appreciate the feed back.

And yes the cue ball was frozen to the lowest number ball on the table.

To clarify - somewhat - I think only International(English) Snooker rules consider
it to be a legal stroke.

Dale
 
Back
Top