Rule Question #1

NightLife

Registered
Rack your own.
Player #1 can rack the balls but can't get the rack off the table without moving the 15th ball.

I say in the rack and gets spotted

If player #1 moves the 15th ball slightly trying to get it up - foul
 
Rack your own.
Player #1 can rack the balls but can't get the rack off the table without moving the 15th ball.

I say in the rack and gets spotted

If player #1 moves the 15th ball slightly trying to get it up - foul

If he can't get the rack off the table without hitting the 15th ball, the 15th ball gets spotted, probably on the head spot (unless the cue ball is in the rack also or unless the head spot is blocked)

I don't think hitting the ball with the rack is a foul. I think the player is in the role of referee when he is racking and nothing he does is a foul.
 
Rack your own.
Player #1 can rack the balls but can't get the rack off the table without moving the 15th ball.

I say in the rack and gets spotted

If player #1 moves the 15th ball slightly trying to get it up - foul
The rule is that a line must be drawn around the triangle when it is on the table. That defines what is in or out of the rack. If the object ball is very close to the triangle outline but not hanging over it, it is probably better to mark the ball, rack the balls, and replace the ball. All good referees carry a ball marker. Watch Michaela Tabb some time.

As Dennis said, a player should not be penalized for doing the job of the referee. In general 14.1 is not rack-your-own -- the shooter usually has the job of reconciling the score beads and/or fetching balls from the head pockets.
 
Back
Top