Rule Question

dmgwalsh

Straight Pool Fanatic
Silver Member
I've had a brain cramp recently regarding this rule.

4.11 Serious Fouls
For Rule 6.14 Three Consecutive Fouls, only standard fouls are counted, so a breaking foul does not count as one of the three fouls. A point is subtracted for the third foul as usual, and then the additional fifteen-point penalty is subtracted and the offending player’s consecutive foul count is reset to zero. All fifteen balls are re-racked and the offending player is required to shoot under the requirements of the opening break.

Assume player A is on two fouls when player B commits his third foul.

After player B re-breaks is player A still on two fouls.

I have always thought the answer is yes but some people at league were thinking not.


Rule question 2:

At Derby City, Danny D was saying that if a player had both feet off the floor while he was at the table, even before he shot, it would be a foul.

Here is the rule I just looked up:

6.4 No Foot on Floor
If the shooter does not have at least one foot touching the floor at the instant the tip contacts the cue ball, the shot is a foul.

Was Danny mistaken? Has the rule been changed?
 
Last edited:
A third foul by you has no effect on your opponent's foul status. I was told by one TD that if my opponent was on a foul and I pocketed a ball, he was no longer on a foul. There are lots of idiots running tournaments.

The "foot on the floor at the instant of contact" rule has been in effect for a long time. Here is the current rule. It says:

6.4 No Foot on Floor
If the shooter does not have at least one foot touching the floor at the instant the tip contacts the cue ball, the shot is a foul.​

Here is the rule from the pro tour (PBA) in 1988:

4.4 Foot
Failure to have at least one foot in contact with the floor at the moment the cue tip contacts the cue ball is a foul.​

Suppose the rule said that at least one foot had to be touching the floor during the entire shot from the time the player approaches the table until all balls have stopped moving. It's easy to see how that would be a referee's nightmare and a shark's delight. Among other problems, if a player pocketed the nine ball at hill-hill and jumped into the air in triumph before the cue ball stopped rolling, it would be a foul. Also, no skipping as you approach the table.

(At one time, the BCA rule book said that it was a foul to have a foot in contact with the floor. It's hard to find good editors.)
 
Last edited:
Back
Top