Rule Question???

Snapshot9

son of 3 leg 1 eye dog ..
Silver Member
Last night in a 9 ball tournament, which is Texas Express rules I believe without the 3 foul rule:

My opponent broke the balls, and his stick was close to the cloth after breaking, the 4 ball hit his stick and changed direction. Also, he made a ball on the break, and it was ruled no foul, and he got to continue shooting.

I would like some opinions if this was the correct call or not. I thought he should have had loss of turn. BTW, he ran the table after he got to continue shooting.
 
Should be a foul. I don't know Texas Express rules but at the very least, loss of turn.
Hand or cue comes into contact with the cue ball or an object ball impeding or changing the direction of the balls in motion.

What would you think if his cue came into contact with the four and comboed the nine in. Would he win the game?
Seriously bad call on that one no matter what.
 
Last edited:
i cry chicken!!!

BBBBWACKOCK!! very fowl, as the four ball was moving and in play. it would be different if the ball was stationary and did not cross the path of any other balls in play.
 
Sorry guys BUT:

It depends on what happened to the Four ball after it struck the cue stick. If the Four ball changed the outcome of the game then a ruling must be made. If the Four ball would have been or stayed in the same area anyway, and not interfered with any other balls, the game continues.

I don't like this Rule but it is what it is.
I think it should be a BIH Foul for the incoming player.

randyg
 
Randy, interfering with the cue ball would be a different story?
Darn, its like trying to figure out a women. Just when you think you have the rules down pat, they go and change them on you.
 
Last edited:
As per bca rules it would only be a foul if the four ball contacted the cue ball after hitting stick or if the four would have hit the cue ball without hitting stick otherwise no foul.
 
Sorry guys BUT:

It depends on what happened to the Four ball after it struck the cue stick. If the Four ball changed the outcome of the game then a ruling must be made. If the Four ball would have been or stayed in the same area anyway, and not interfered with any other balls, the game continues.

I don't like this Rule but it is what it is.
I think it should be a BIH Foul for the incoming player.

randyg

But isn't the 4 ball going in the pocket changing the outcome of the game? I don't see how this can't be a foul.
 
As per bca rules it would only be a foul if the four ball contacted the cue ball after hitting stick or if the four would have hit the cue ball without hitting stick otherwise no foul.

So i can just feed balls in with my cue when I go play tonight and its no foul?
 
Additional

The 4 ball did NOT hit the cue ball, but the direction of the 4 ball was changed. I did look it up too in the Texas Express rules, and under 6.14 Touching Moving Balls it does appear to be a foul, which should have been ball in hand.
 
This would be a long shot here. Randy said that if it changed the out come of the game.

The scenario might be, that the four ball stopped the one ball over a pocket,
or the nine. Any number of combination's that may influence the out come to maybe make it an easy out for the shooter.

Is this something that the ref would rule on depending, or is it still a NO?

In Dr. Dave's ref quiz, there is part of the video that shows the shooter moving a ball after the shot and that ball comes in contact with the cue ball. That or interfering with the travel of the cue ball either with your cue or hand. Thats a given but the other possibilities have me puzzled. Which isn't too hard to do at times anyway.

Having a hard and fast rule like that leaves the door open to, too many possibilities.

For example, I was playing a 9 ball tourney. The shooter shoots a ball in down the short rail. In pulling back her cue she also pockets a ball in the opposite corner pocket with her hand. Now, if she had shot the seven, pocketed the eight with her hand and the nine was an easy shot, should she have been allowed to continue shooting?
 
Last edited:
Disclaimer: I play very little 9-ball and, as such, not very familiar with the fine points of the rules.

In general, I agree with DoubleD above -- foul on break. I'd have called a potential foul on myself and let the TD/ref sort it out (if we were playing "cue ball fouls only").

None the less, I can see it not being ruled a foul if you were playing "cue ball fouls only." If so (and you want to argue the call), the only ways that I can think of to protest the call would be to tell the TD/ref:

(1) He left his cue tip on/near the table after the break. He definitely seemed to see the 4 headed towards his stick before contact and at the last instant he made NO instinctive effort to try and get his cue out of the way. That’s just wrong. Therefore, loss of game due to unsportsmanlike conduct.

AND (assuming argument (1) above is rejected)

(2) With “cue ball fouls only” don't I get the choice of leaving the 4 ball where it is or having it placed it where I think it would have wound up? Because, I think it would have wound up being frozen in terrible shape to (or blocking or being blocked by) some other ball in the area (if any).


Bottom Line: IMHO, you got hosed. Like you stated, you checked the appropriate rules and they say you can’t touch a moving ball with your cue.
 
... For example, I was playing a 9 ball tourney. The shooter shoots a ball in down the short rail. In pulling back her cue she also pockets a ball in the opposite corner pocket with her hand. Now, if she had shot the seven, pocketed the eight with her hand and the nine was an easy shot, should she have been allowed to continue shooting?

Here's my take:

If you were playing "cue ball fouls only", it would not be a foul. However, you should be given the option of either leaving the 8-ball where it is (i.e., pocketed) or replaced to where YOU think its original position was.
 
World Standardized Rules

6.6 Touched Ball
It is a foul to touch, move or change the path of any object ball except by the normal ball-to-ball contacts during shots.

All fouls result in BHI.
 
Bcapl

1.33 Disturbed Balls (Cue Ball Fouls Only) (AR p. 79)

7. It is a foul if:​
d. you disturb a ball that is in motion.​

There, it IS a foul by two different, respected organizations.
 
Back
Top