rule question

kaznj

AzB Silver Member
Silver Member
Opening break. The player hits the side of the rack. Two balls hits a rail. The cue ball, instead of hitting a rail, goes straight into the corner pocket.

One ball foul or two ball foul?

I know if the cue ball hits a rail and goes into the pocket it is a one ball foul. Is the pocket considered a rail?

I looked on several sites and cannot find this mentioned in the rules.
 
Section 8.4 from WPA:

8.4 Driven to a Rail
A ball is said to be driven to a rail if it is not touching that rail and then touches that rail. A ball touching at the start of a shot (said to be “frozen” to the rail) is not considered driven to that rail unless it leaves the rail and returns. A ball that is pocketed or driven off the table is also considered to have been driven to a rail. A ball is assumed not to be frozen to any rail unless it is declared frozen by the referee, the shooter, or the opponent. See also Regulation 27, Calling Frozen Balls.

My opinion is worth the paper I'm writing it on, but based on this, I would say it's a regular foul.
 
Opening break. The player hits the side of the rack. Two balls hits a rail. The cue ball, instead of hitting a rail, goes straight into the corner pocket.

One ball foul or two ball foul?

I know if the cue ball hits a rail and goes into the pocket it is a one ball foul. Is the pocket considered a rail?

I looked on several sites and cannot find this mentioned in the rules.


that would be a 1 point foul, and does count towards the 3 foul rule.

-Steve
 
Opening break. The player hits the side of the rack. Two balls hits a rail. The cue ball, instead of hitting a rail, goes straight into the corner pocket.

One ball foul or two ball foul?

I know if the cue ball hits a rail and goes into the pocket it is a one ball foul. Is the pocket considered a rail?

I looked on several sites and cannot find this mentioned in the rules.

Sometimes you have to read all of the rules. Here it is, hidden in the Definitions of the WPA WSR:
8.4 Driven to a Rail
A ball is said to be driven to a rail if it is not touching that rail and then touches that rail. A ball touching at the start of a shot (said to be “frozen” to the rail) is not considered driven to that rail unless it leaves the rail and returns. A ball that is pocketed or driven off the table is also considered to have been driven to a rail. A ball is assumed not to be frozen to any rail unless it is declared frozen by the referee, the shooter, or the opponent. See also Regulation 27, Calling Frozen Balls.​
 
Back
Top