Rules question - hitting a rail

Wheels33

AzB Silver Member
Silver Member
Quick question...does the cue ball or object ball have to hit a rail at any point of the shot if the object ball isn't potted?

In other words, is it possible to just slowly roll the cue ball up to a ball to snooker your opponent, without either ball ever touching a rail?


Thanks.
 


Thanks, just asking because I've been watching a lot of snooker matches on YouTube, and I've yet to see someone do that...they always touch a rail before or after contact.

Seems like a good strategy at the right time would be to sink a red, sending the cue ball up table towards the top rail, then slow roll the ball up behind a colour ball for the snooker.... I've just never seen anyone do that in any of the matches I've watched
 
Thanks, just asking because I've been watching a lot of snooker matches on YouTube, and I've yet to see someone do that...they always touch a rail before or after contact.

Seems like a good strategy at the right time would be to sink a red, sending the cue ball up table towards the top rail, then slow roll the ball up behind a colour ball for the snooker.... I've just never seen anyone do that in any of the matches I've watched
That is done, but usually not intentionally. If they can get to baulk, they would rather pot a colour and return to the reds. If they end awkward in baulk after a red, they will roll up to a colour if it's easy to do so.

And on a snooker (billiards) table, the ends are reversed, so the black is near the top cushion.
 
Back
Top