Rules Question re/ Foul After Scratch

call shot

Call Shot
Hi everyone. Today I was playing in a two man team snooker event(Canadian), and while I know this is a US forum I would appreciate some help on a ruling. Here is the scenario. One of our opponents scratched. As there was no Ref I took the cue ball out of pocket and set it in the "D" for my partner. He then walked around to the head of the table while looking at a potential shot down table. In a less than smart move he reached down to place the cue ball where he wanted it in the "D" but did not look and accidentally picked up the yellow which was lying about mid table between the "D" and the Head rail. He immeditaley incurred a four point foul. Now My question is: Once the foul was made and the Yellow placed back to its spot could the cue ball be then be moved by the incoming player within the "D" if he chose to shoot and not have my partner shoot again? In this case an elected ball wasn't an option. So did incoming player get to replace cue ball in "D" or must haqve played it as it lied as foul has been incurred? Thanks for you assistance.
 
Hi everyone. Today I was playing in a two man team snooker event(Canadian), and while I know this is a US forum I would appreciate some help on a ruling. Here is the scenario. One of our opponents scratched. As there was no Ref I took the cue ball out of pocket and set it in the "D" for my partner. He then walked around to the head of the table while looking at a potential shot down table. In a less than smart move he reached down to place the cue ball where he wanted it in the "D" but did not look and accidentally picked up the yellow which was lying about mid table between the "D" and the Head rail. He immeditaley incurred a four point foul. Now My question is: Once the foul was made and the Yellow placed back to its spot could the cue ball be then be moved by the incoming player within the "D" if he chose to shoot and not have my partner shoot again? In this case an elected ball wasn't an option. So did incoming player get to replace cue ball in "D" or must haqve played it as it lied as foul has been incurred? Thanks for you assistance.
The best place to get the rules is the IBSF website, www.ibsf.info but it might take a while to find the right one. I think this one covers your problem:
9. In-hand
(a) The cue-ball is in-hand
(i) before the start of each frame,
(ii) when it has entered a pocket, or
(iii) when it has been forced off the table.
(b) It remains in-hand until
(i) it is played fairly from in-hand, or
(ii) a foul is committed whilst the ball is on the table
(c) The striker is said to be in-hand when the cue-ball is in-hand as above.

Part (b) says that it was no longer in-hand as soon as the foul occurred since the cue ball was on the table.

Often the referee when retrieving a cue ball for ball in hand will place the cue ball frozen to the middle of the baulk cushion. I think that's a good procedure to follow.
 
Hi everyone. Today I was playing in a two man team snooker event(Canadian), and while I know this is a US forum I would appreciate some help on a ruling. Here is the scenario. One of our opponents scratched. As there was no Ref I took the cue ball out of pocket and set it in the "D" for my partner. He then walked around to the head of the table while looking at a potential shot down table. In a less than smart move he reached down to place the cue ball where he wanted it in the "D" but did not look and accidentally picked up the yellow which was lying about mid table between the "D" and the Head rail. He immeditaley incurred a four point foul. Now My question is: Once the foul was made and the Yellow placed back to its spot could the cue ball be then be moved by the incoming player within the "D" if he chose to shoot and not have my partner shoot again? In this case an elected ball wasn't an option. So did incoming player get to replace cue ball in "D" or must haqve played it as it lied as foul has been incurred? Thanks for you assistance.
He does not have ball-in-hand....the cue ball wasn't recovered from a
pocket or off the table.
I've seen it happen in refereed tournaments and it was called foul when
the next player picked up the cue ball.

..and I got news for you about this forum...it originated in Arizona but
it is the best WORLD WIDE FORUM
 
Back
Top