Rules Question - Valley League Tournament Play

elvicash

AzB Silver Member
Silver Member
Rules Question - Playing Valley League Rules at Indiana State Championship these situations came up today.

-------------------------

Balls are broken cue ball scratches. Incoming player takes cue ball in hand and shoots after placing the ball down in the area between the side pockets. Breaker calls a foul after the shot as the rule is cue ball behind the head string on shot after scratching on the break.

Fouling player complains that the breaker was supposed to remind them the shot after the break is supposed to be behind the headstring.

Question is the incoming player supposed to be warned on this, I would agree the call is to get the ref if the cue ball was at all close to the head string but when it is placed between the side pockets then the incoming player should know better and is committing a foul.

----------------------------------

Same tourney different situation shooter has ball in hand and inadvertantley touches another object ball while placing the cue ball.

He then insists the opposing player move the touched object ball back to its original position. Silly player agrees and move back the object ball to position indicated by fouling shooter. Shooter then proceeds to run out.

Is it not a foul and loss of turn if any object ball is fouled while placing the cue ball with ball in hand?

I thought while the ball is in the hand then it is "hot" and any ball touched is a foul/loss of turn.

---------------------------------

Same tourney another situation. Playing rack your own break. Breaker racks the ball and breaks, no ref is called prior to the breaking of the balls. After break opposing player calls for a foul claiming the breaker had not placed a stripe and a solid on the two back corners.

Breaker claims the rack was proper.

There is no solid proof of either being correct.

Would this not go to the breaker since the ref was not called and the ruling goes to the shooter.

----------------------------------

These are all real nitty issues but all happened in my immediate area in one day of play at the tourney.

This might be different for different leagues I am specifically interested in Valley Rules for the 2008-2009 year.
 
yeah, in our valley league it's the same... you are not responsible for preventing the opponent from fouling, you are only responsible for calling it after it happens. He's the only one responsible for preventing it.

If you fail to call it before he continues shooting the next ball you're usually SOL. Though I've heard stories of players shooting the wrong group and their opponents let them continue to do it right up to the 8 ball, and then calling the foul. But those are the kind of things you hear about but pretty much never see happening.
 
What about touching another ball while placing the cue ball with ball in hand is that definitely a foul. If I was gambling I would not put up with it I would be taking the turn back. At this Valley tourney the opponent picked up the ball and put it back where the person commiting the foul said to put it. The fouler then continued with his turn place the cue ball more carefully. Whats up with that...

Also I say calling wrong balls either two solids or two stripes on the corner after the break is not going to be callable after the break without a ref being present and the ref seeing how the balls are racked before they are broken.

And then they miss a ton of things. One thing I saw more than a few times were balls hit softly in the middle of the table with more than one ball moving and nothing gets a rail and the incoming player does not call the foul. That happened in my immediate area quite a bit, the same people would get a ref for the silly situations and then not call this obvious foul.

I saw a ton of nitty stuff at the tourney in two days of play and a bunch of stuff was missed. I guesss that is why we are B players.
 
Last edited:
There is a rule regarding shooting forward of the kitchen requiring the sitting player to notify the shooter, however, it is with regards to a cb on or slightly over the line where the sitter feels that the shooter is not in the kitchen, but it is close. You never need to give a warning with regards to a blattent foul.

The second part, yes it is a foul. BIH to the incoming player.

Third part, ruling to the shooter. No ref, no agreement, no foul.
 
Back
Top