Rules Question

Jallan

AzB Silver Member
Silver Member
I tried to look this up and may not have understood the answer correctly.

9 ball

Player A fouls the cue ball. Cue ball stops moving. Player A picks up cue ball to hand to Player B. Player A sets cue ball on table and rolls to Player B while Player B is approching table. Cue ball makes contact with object ball on table.

What is the correct procedure at this point?

Player A gets a loss of game foul? (This is how I understand it now.)

Return object ball to original position and play continues with Player B taking ball in hand?

Or, Player B has choice of moving bumped object ball to original position and takes ball in hand?

Thanks in advance
 
rule

Player gets to move ball back to as close to its orginal position, and he has qb in hand. continue play.:thumbup:
 
Two fouls on the same shot: Only one foul is counted, the one of greatest significance. Without further info, I assume the CB foul takes precidence.

Incomming player has option to replace the moved OB (or not)
Incomming player has ball in hand
Outgoing player is sitting on one foul

Referee may choose to upgrade the foul to "unsportsman-like conduct" if any maliciousness was detected by rolling the CB towards the incomming player. Referee must inform player of the USLC foul and future consequences of such behavior. As this is the first USLC foul, the above scenario holds. A second USLC will result in loss of game, a third loss of match.
 
Between friends we just try to move accidental nudges back to their original position.

In league play, the rule was that the sitting player can either move it back or leave it in position if he thinks it helps him. I always liked that rule. I wish it were the universal rule.
 
6.6 Touched Ball
It is a foul to touch, move or change the path of any object ball except by the normal ball-to-ball contacts during shots. It is a foul to touch, move or change the path of the cue ball except when it is in hand or by the normal tip-to-ball forward stroke contact of a shot. The shooter is responsible for the equipment he controls at the table, such as chalk, bridges, clothing, his hair, parts of his body, and the cue ball when it is in hand, that may be involved in such fouls. If such a foul is accidental, it is a standard foul, but if it is intentional, it is 6.16 Unsportsmanlike Conduct.

6.16 Unsportsmanlike Conduct
The normal penalty for unsportsmanlike conduct is the same as for a serious foul, but the referee may impose a penalty depending on his judgment of the conduct. Among other penalties possible are a warning; a standard-foul penalty, which will count as part of a three-foul sequence if applicable; a serious-foul penalty; loss of a rack, set or match; ejection from the competition possibly with forfeiture of all prizes, trophies and standings points.
Unsportsmanlike conduct is any intentional behavior that brings disrepute to the sport or which disrupts or changes the game to the extent that it cannot be played fairly. It includes
(a) distracting the opponent;
(b) changing the position of the balls in play other than by a shot;
(c) playing a shot by intentionally miscuing;
(d) continuing to play after a foul has been called or play has been suspended;
(e) practicing during a match;
(f) marking the table;
(g) delay of the game; and
(h) using equipment inappropriately.

I understand it to be a loss of game. Rolling the cueball is intentional. If you roll the cueball to your opponent, you better be sure it doesn't hit anything. "Accidental movement" must occur during normal/routine play. You have to be in the act of shooting. Once you've fouled, you have no business touching ANYTHING. It's polite to fetch the cueball but you still maintain responsibility to not disturb anything.

You may run across a league director/tournament director who is more forgiving but it's important, as a player, to understand the penalty CAN be this severe.
 
Two fouls on the same shot: Only one foul is counted, the one of greatest significance. Without further info, I assume the CB foul takes precidence.

Incomming player has option to replace the moved OB (or not)
Incomming player has ball in hand
Outgoing player is sitting on one foul

Referee may choose to upgrade the foul to "unsportsman-like conduct" if any maliciousness was detected by rolling the CB towards the incomming player. Referee must inform player of the USLC foul and future consequences of such behavior. As this is the first USLC foul, the above scenario holds. A second USLC will result in loss of game, a third loss of match.

This is a common mistake. You don't have to be malicious to be unsportsmanlike. Although that is commonly how the rule is used, even being "disrespectful to the sport" can warrant such a penalty. I understand that in this instance the player is not acting-out but again, as a player, it's important to protect yourself from such rulings.
 
Is it so hard to just get the cue ball and, oh I don't know HAND it to your opponent? If not, maybe just put it it down on the table near him? Why roll it if there other balls on the table that it might hit?
 
Is it so hard to just get the cue ball and, oh I don't know HAND it to your opponent? If not, maybe just put it it down on the table near him? Why roll it if there other balls on the table that it might hit?

You're obviously a player who actively protects himself from these awkward moments. This is like in baseball when a guy forgets to touch a base after hitting a homerun. How can you have such a lapse in concentration?
 
Back
Top