rules question

zencues.com

AzB Silver Member
Silver Member
racking with a template.

a player leaves the template on the table after breaking.

during a shot with the balls rolling the player quickly removes the template from the table before a ball rolls over it.

is this a foul?
 

garczar

AzB Silver Member
Silver Member
racking with a template.

a player leaves the template on the table after breaking.

during a shot with the balls rolling the player quickly removes the template from the table before a ball rolls over it.

is this a foul?
Seen it happen fairly often. Never seen a foul called.
 

David in FL

AzB Gold Member
Gold Member
Silver Member
Happens all the time.

Never even imagined that anyone could consider it to be a foul....
 

Bob Jewett

AZB Osmium Member
Staff member
Gold Member
Silver Member
The rules list all possible fouls. Which specific foul occurs?

Here are the rules: https://wpapool.com/rules-of-play/

I can't find any violation in there. However, there is this:

6.16 Ball Rack Template Foul

It is a foul when a Ball Rack Template, removed from the playing surface, interferes with the game i.e. if the template is lying on the rail and a ball (cue or object ball) touches the template that is lying on the rail.​

But wait, there's more. The Regulations (as opposed to the Rules) describe other aspects of using a template. Specifically, the template must be removed as soon after the break as possible. "As possible" brings in the exceptions of too many balls on the template to be sure that they all go back correctly and two balls frozen on the template. It is forbidden to remove the template from under two frozen balls.

So, it is really unlikely that a game following the rules and regulations will arrive at a situation where the player will be able to remove the template mid-shot, but it is possible. It seems that it will not be a foul and that it is actually recommended.
 
Top