This was a new one for me ... the incident happened in the 2008 Hoboken 8-ball Masters tournament this past weekend, and I was called over to make a ruling. The tournament was run under APA rules, but I'd be interested in how it is judged in other organisations too.
It was the first round, and many people, especially newcomers were nervous (this is a big tournament with over 100 people playing). A player mistakingly believes the 9-ball is the cue ball, and shoots in his low ball using the 9-ball. The 9-ball was in the rack, and the low ball near the corner pocket. No other ball moved during this shot. His opponent realised what had happened and called me over. Since it was a natural mistake, there was no cue ball foul, and his opponent was happy just to have the balls replaced, that was the obvious solution, but I'd be interested in the actual ruling. No other balls moved, and the cue ball didn't move. You can argue that since APA rules are cue ball fouls only that his shot would constitute moving two balls accidentally and having them replaced is the ruling. But is striking another ball with your tip considered a foul? What would happen in BCA rules?
It was the first round, and many people, especially newcomers were nervous (this is a big tournament with over 100 people playing). A player mistakingly believes the 9-ball is the cue ball, and shoots in his low ball using the 9-ball. The 9-ball was in the rack, and the low ball near the corner pocket. No other ball moved during this shot. His opponent realised what had happened and called me over. Since it was a natural mistake, there was no cue ball foul, and his opponent was happy just to have the balls replaced, that was the obvious solution, but I'd be interested in the actual ruling. No other balls moved, and the cue ball didn't move. You can argue that since APA rules are cue ball fouls only that his shot would constitute moving two balls accidentally and having them replaced is the ruling. But is striking another ball with your tip considered a foul? What would happen in BCA rules?