Rules Question

Jallan

AzB Silver Member
Silver Member
The rack is opened but there are no shots from the top of the rack and there are no dead combos/caroms. Basically, it has been hit but not well enough to leave an open shot from the top half of the table. There are two open balls below the rack.

Player A rattles a ball in the top corner pocket and scratches.

Player B has to shoot from behind the head string.

The question is: Can player B intentionally foul and shoot the five in the up table corner pocket? The object ball would then be respotted and Player A would have the ball behind the head string. And, keep in mind, Player A is already on one foul.

My gut says that Player B cannot make this shot but what would the penelty be?
 
Jallan said:
The rack is opened but there are no shots from the top of the rack and there are no dead combos/caroms. Basically, it has been hit but not well enough to leave an open shot from the top half of the table. There are two open balls below the rack.

Player A rattles a ball in the top corner pocket and scratches.

Player B has to shoot from behind the head string.

The question is: Can player B intentionally foul and shoot the five in the up table corner pocket? The object ball would then be respotted and Player A would have the ball behind the head string. And, keep in mind, Player A is already on one foul.

My gut says that Player B cannot make this shot but what would the penelty be?

No - B must shoot the Cue Ball across the head string.
 
pdcue said:
No - B must shoot the Cue Ball across the head string.


Yeah, but he's wanting to know if you can intentionally foul by going ahead and shooting the ball into the pocket. I would say the answer is yes. Why should that be any different than taking an intentional foul by just bumping into a ball in the rack area? Personally, if the rack isn't busted up I like going into the back of it and freezing the cue ball to the back of the pack.
MULLY
 
The cue ball must pass the headstring from ball in hand behind the headstring. If the ball you are refering to is in a corner pocket behind the headstring when player B has the ball in hand from the scratch, then no the player can't shoot directly into the ball without crossing the headstring, BUT the player can bank into the ball by crossing the headstring and call safe, then its a legal shot and the ball would get spotted and the cue ball would stay in place.
 
selftaut said:
The cue ball must pass the headstring from ball in hand behind the headstring. If the ball you are refering to is in a corner pocket behind the headstring when player B has the ball in hand from the scratch, then no the player can't shoot directly into the ball without crossing the headstring, BUT the player can bank into the ball by crossing the headstring and call safe, then its a legal shot and the ball would get spotted and the cue ball would stay in place.


Ok, so are you saying you are not allowed to take the intentional foul by shooting directly into it? That's the question at hand, taking the intentional foul.
MULLY
 
mullyman said:
Ok, so are you saying you are not allowed to take the intentional foul by shooting directly into it? That's the question at hand, taking the intentional foul.
MULLY

Mully, its unsportsmanlike conduct. It could cost ya.

6.11 Bad Play from Behind the Head String
When the cue ball is in hand behind the head string, and the first ball the cue ball contacts is also behind the head string, the shot is a foul unless the cue ball crosses the head string before that contact. If such a shot is intentional, it is unsportsmanlike conduct.
The cue ball must either cross the head string or contact a ball in front of or on the head string or the shot is a foul, and the cue ball is in hand for the following player according to the rules of the specific game.

6.16 Unsportsmanlike Conduct
The normal penalty for unsportsmanlike conduct is the same as for a serious foul, but the referee may impose a penalty depending on his judgment of the conduct. Among other penalties possible are a warning; a standard-foul penalty, which will count as part of a three-foul sequence if applicable; a serious-foul penalty; loss of a rack, set or match; ejection from the competition possibly with forfeiture of all prizes, trophies and standings points.
Unsportsmanlike conduct is any intentional behavior that brings disrepute to the sport or which disrupts or changes the game to the extent that it cannot be played fairly. It includes
(a) distracting the opponent;
(b) changing the position of the balls in play other than by a shot;
(c) playing a shot by intentionally miscuing;
(d) continuing to play after a foul has been called or play has been suspended;
(e) practicing during a match;
(f) marking the table;
(g) delay of the game; and
(h) using equipment inappropriately.
 
Last edited:
mullyman said:
Ok, so are you saying you are not allowed to take the intentional foul by shooting directly into it? That's the question at hand, taking the intentional foul.
MULLY

Yes, again note the MUST part.

Dale
 
The unsportsmanlike conduct is what I had figured it would come down too...

How about the situation where you get bad on the break ball but dont have a viable safe option. Is it "unsportsmanlike" to call a ball in the corner pocket and then shoot it in the side while sending the cue ball up table? The object ball would be spotted and the cue ball is now on the head rail.
 
Jallan said:
The unsportsmanlike conduct is what I had figured it would come down too...

How about the situation where you get bad on the break ball but dont have a viable safe option. Is it "unsportsmanlike" to call a ball in the corner pocket and then shoot it in the side while sending the cue ball up table? The object ball would be spotted and the cue ball is now on the head rail.

no, you would just need to call a safety (not call in corner pocket). any balls potted on a safety come back up to be respotted.
 
Back
Top