Rules Questions

frankncali

AzB Silver Member
Silver Member
A couple situations

1- Nineball
A player is shooting the 1ball but is jacked up over the 3 ball.
On his final stroke he hits the 3 ball first with his tip and then hit the
cueball. Any foul??

2- Player is in same situation as above but on the last back stroke he
accidentally moves the three back a bit and then strokes and is able to
get get closer to center on the cueball.

3- Same situation as other but this time the player hits the 3 ball with his tip on final stroke and then the cueball. The cue seems to stop and then the 3 hits it.

4- Different setup
A player is playing a safe by really thinning a ball with inside and then having the cueball hit a rail and spin down table.
The player hits the OB thinly and the cueball moves out of the way. The cuetip then hits the OB due to aiming so far with inside and the super thin hit.
Cueball gets a rail but the OB moves significantly with the extra touch from the cuetip.
 
Hi Frank, how are you?

It will be interesting to see some answers here. I think Tx Express & World 9-Ball Rules are the same on these issues.

Sounds like a case for.....Bob Jewett.

SPF-randyg
 
frankncali said:
A couple situations

1- Nineball
A player is shooting the 1ball but is jacked up over the 3 ball.
On his final stroke he hits the 3 ball first with his tip and then hit the
cueball. Any foul??

1.16.1 CUE BALL FOULS ONLY
When a referee is presiding over a match, it is a foul for a player to touch any ball (cue ball or object ball) with the cue, clothing, body, mechanical bridge or chalk, before, during or after a shot. However, when a referee is not presiding over a game, it is not a foul to accidentally touch stationary balls located between the cue ball and the shooter while in the act of shooting. If such an accident occurs, the player should allow the Tournament Director to restore the object balls to their correct positions. If the player does not allow such a restoration, and a ball set in motion as a normal part of the shot touches such an unrestored ball, or passes partly into a region originally occupied by a disturbed ball, the shot is a foul. In short, if the accident has any effect on the outcome of the shot, it is a foul. In any case, the Tournament Director must be called upon to restore the positions of the disturbed balls as soon as possible, but not during the shot. It is a foul to play another shot before the Tournament Director has restored any accidentally moved balls. At the non-shooting player’s option, the disturbed balls will be left in their new positions. In this case, the balls are considered restored, and subsequent contact on them is not a foul. It is still a foul to make any contact with the cue ball whatsoever while it is in play, except for the normal tip-to-ball contact during a shot.



frankncali said:
2- Player is in same situation as above but on the last back stroke he
accidentally moves the three back a bit and then strokes and is able to
get get closer to center on the cueball.

See above


frankncali said:
3- Same situation as other but this time the player hits the 3 ball with his tip on final stroke and then the cueball. The cue seems to stop and then the 3 hits it.


See above


frankncali said:
4- Different setup
A player is playing a safe by really thinning a ball with inside and then having the cueball hit a rail and spin down table.
The player hits the OB thinly and the cueball moves out of the way. The cuetip then hits the OB due to aiming so far with inside and the super thin hit.
Cueball gets a rail but the OB moves significantly with the extra touch from the cuetip.


See above



The key element here is whether it had an impact on the outcome of the shot. In situation 1, if the disturbed ball did not occupy a space that would have changed the outcome of the shot or landed in a space that changed the outcome of the shot then the original position can safely be restored hence, it is not a foul.

In situation 2, the shooter is not allowed to restore position so this can be called a foul. The key element here is that the rule is gracious if the shooter is in the act of actually shooting. This rule does not apply to a warm-up stroke. Once a disturbance has occured, the shooter is obligated to get-up and allow time to restore position.

In situation 3, the disturbed object ball obviously had an impact on the outcome of the shot. It is undoubtedly a foul.

In situation 4, once again the disturbance has had an impact on the outcome of the shot. This too is a foul.
 
Who is right?

Recently, two players were playing 9-ball, cue ball fouls only. If an OB was disturbed accidentally, the opponent had the right to either leave it where it was, or else put it back where he thought it was originally.

What happened was this: Player A shot the 2-ball, which collided with the 7-ball, then sped down to the opposite end of the table. While Player A watched the 2-ball, his hand touched the 7-ball, which was rebounding off the rail toward the corner pocket. His hand caused the 7-ball to divert away from the pocket.

Player B complained that he was snookered on the 2-ball, and that it should really be player A's shot, since the 7-ball would have gone in the corner pocket if Player A had not touched it. Player B said it was unfair to be penalized by Player A's foul on the 7-ball. Player A replied, "Cue ball fouls only!"

A bystander commented that since the shot was interfered with, it was a foul despite the "cue ball fouls only" rule in effect. He said Player B should get cue ball in hand.

Another bystander said that since Player A interferred with the 7-ball, Player B had the right to either leave it where it ended up, or else put it where he thought it would have gone, in this case, in the corner pocker. Thus, since Player B would choose to pocket the 7-ball, it would still be Player A's shot, and he would be snookered on the 2-ball. Player A responded that the OB rules applied only to stationary OBs.

Who is right?
 
Zorro said:
Recently, two players were playing 9-ball, cue ball fouls only. If an OB was disturbed accidentally, the opponent had the right to either leave it where it was, or else put it back where he thought it was originally.

What happened was this: Player A shot the 2-ball, which collided with the 7-ball, then sped down to the opposite end of the table. While Player A watched the 2-ball, his hand touched the 7-ball, which was rebounding off the rail toward the corner pocket. His hand caused the 7-ball to divert away from the pocket.

Player B complained that he was snookered on the 2-ball, and that it should really be player A's shot, since the 7-ball would have gone in the corner pocket if Player A had not touched it. Player B said it was unfair to be penalized by Player A's foul on the 7-ball. Player A replied, "Cue ball fouls only!"

A bystander commented that since the shot was interfered with, it was a foul despite the "cue ball fouls only" rule in effect. He said Player B should get cue ball in hand.

Another bystander said that since Player A interferred with the 7-ball, Player B had the right to either leave it where it ended up, or else put it where he thought it would have gone, in this case, in the corner pocker. Thus, since Player B would choose to pocket the 7-ball, it would still be Player A's shot, and he would be snookered on the 2-ball. Player A responded that the OB rules applied only to stationary OBs.

Who is right?


Please refer to my previous post. "In short, if the accident has any effect on the outcome of the shot, it is a foul." Touching an object ball in motion definitely would effect the outcome of the shot. It's a foul. No doubt.
 
frankncali said:
A couple situations

1- Nineball
A player is shooting the 1ball but is jacked up over the 3 ball.
On his final stroke he hits the 3 ball first with his tip and then hit the
cueball. Any foul??

2- Player is in same situation as above but on the last back stroke he
accidentally moves the three back a bit and then strokes and is able to
get get closer to center on the cueball.

3- Same situation as other but this time the player hits the 3 ball with his tip on final stroke and then the cueball. The cue seems to stop and then the 3 hits it.

4- Different setup
A player is playing a safe by really thinning a ball with inside and then having the cueball hit a rail and spin down table.
The player hits the OB thinly and the cueball moves out of the way. The cuetip then hits the OB due to aiming so far with inside and the super thin hit.
Cueball gets a rail but the OB moves significantly with the extra touch from the cuetip.
!. Foul
2. Oponnets Option.
3. Foul
4. Foul
 
Back
Top