Scenario: Player gets up to shoot in their shot. Positions their body by the side pocket. Cuts in the OB and CB comes off the end rail and hangs in the corner pocket. Player leaves original shooting position to play next shot. CB FALLS INTO THE POCKET.Referee is called. Player contends that 5 seconds has passed.
RULING: BALLS MOVING SPONTANEOUSLY. If a ball shifts, settles, turns or otherwise moves "by itself," the ball shall remain in the position it assumed and play continues. A hanging ball that falls into a pocket "by itself" after being motionless for 5 seconds or longer shall be replaced as closely as possible to its position prior to falling, and play shall continue.
Referee replaces the CB and play continues. Incoming player doesn't have any argument even though they do not feel 5 seconds has passed.
_________________________________________________________________________________________________________________
I thought this rule was originally created for a situation whereas the player has left the table and the ball has fallen into the pocket. 5 seconds is a long time when you actually watch it pass on a clock.
Now if the player had actually left their original position and was over the shot shooting it and it fell, then I could agree with this ruling, but, not after the finishing the shot and the CB drops just as they are getting ready to leave to go to the next shot.
I think the ruling should stay the same for OB, but, limit CB instances to only apply when being over the shot; whether in the shooting or attempted shooting position. If it falls before that, it is considered a scratch.
Your thoughts?
RULING: BALLS MOVING SPONTANEOUSLY. If a ball shifts, settles, turns or otherwise moves "by itself," the ball shall remain in the position it assumed and play continues. A hanging ball that falls into a pocket "by itself" after being motionless for 5 seconds or longer shall be replaced as closely as possible to its position prior to falling, and play shall continue.
Referee replaces the CB and play continues. Incoming player doesn't have any argument even though they do not feel 5 seconds has passed.
_________________________________________________________________________________________________________________
I thought this rule was originally created for a situation whereas the player has left the table and the ball has fallen into the pocket. 5 seconds is a long time when you actually watch it pass on a clock.
Now if the player had actually left their original position and was over the shot shooting it and it fell, then I could agree with this ruling, but, not after the finishing the shot and the CB drops just as they are getting ready to leave to go to the next shot.
I think the ruling should stay the same for OB, but, limit CB instances to only apply when being over the shot; whether in the shooting or attempted shooting position. If it falls before that, it is considered a scratch.
Your thoughts?