Ruling

i miss "everything is a foul"

Only in the US is it acceptable to move a ball. It's pretty ridiculous. In the example in this post there used to be a rule that specified that you could only move a ball between the CB and the shooter (meaning that you could only move a ball you would be bridging over or near). Here it is:

1.16.1 CUE BALL FOULS ONLY
When a referee is presiding over a match, it is a foul for a player to touch any ball (cue ball or object ball) with the cue, clothing, body, mechanical bridge or chalk, before, during or after a shot. However, when a referee is not presiding over a game, it is not a foul to accidentally touch stationary balls located between the cue ball and the shooter while in the act of shooting. If such an accident occurs, the player should allow the Tournament Director to restore the object balls to their correct positions. If the player does not allow such a restoration, and a ball set in motion as a normal part of the shot touches such an unrestored ball, or passes partly into a region originally occupied by a disturbed ball, the shot is a foul...(there's more)


I like the spirit of this rule. Moving a ball that you should be nowhere near should be a foul. I don't believe this rule is in the books anymore but I feel that the US should take steps to get in line with the rest of the world and stop playing sloppy. Saves some arguments if you simply can't move a ball.
 
Ok how about this one, Player A scratches and gives player B BIH. The lowest ball on the table is the two ball. The two and the six are nearly froze to the side rail and the two is closer to the pocket and can be shot in cleanly. The balls are about 1 1/2 balls apart, while placing the cue ball between the two balls the six moves. No one disputes the six moved, Player A claims he hit it with the cue ball, Player B claims his finger that was wrapped around the cue ball hit the six.

Is it a foul when placing the cue ball if any ball is moved? Or only if the cue ball is what actually moved the other ball?

Both players were A+ players and the score was hill, hill for several thousands of dollars, I know this doesn't effect the rulling, but it certainly made both players not want to give in!
 
Ok how about this one, Player A scratches and gives player B BIH. The lowest ball on the table is the two ball. The two and the six are nearly froze to the side rail and the two is closer to the pocket and can be shot in cleanly. The balls are about 1 1/2 balls apart, while placing the cue ball between the two balls the six moves. No one disputes the six moved, Player A claims he hit it with the cue ball, Player B claims his finger that was wrapped around the cue ball hit the six.

Is it a foul when placing the cue ball if any ball is moved? Or only if the cue ball is what actually moved the other ball?

Both players were A+ players and the score was hill, hill for several thousands of dollars, I know this doesn't effect the rulling, but it certainly made both players not want to give in!

the way we've played it is if any of the railbirds that dont have a piece of the action can call the hit then we ask them. but i believe it favors the shooter. they are good players and the pressure is on so u never know what any1 is really capable of doion when a few thousand are at stake
 
Yeah man, other player has the option of leaving it be or putting it back - but definitely not a foul.
Who tried to call that on you man? Just take 'em outside haha
 
Ok how about this one, Player A scratches and gives player B BIH. The lowest ball on the table is the two ball. The two and the six are nearly froze to the side rail and the two is closer to the pocket and can be shot in cleanly. The balls are about 1 1/2 balls apart, while placing the cue ball between the two balls the six moves. No one disputes the six moved, Player A claims he hit it with the cue ball, Player B claims his finger that was wrapped around the cue ball hit the six.

Is it a foul when placing the cue ball if any ball is moved? Or only if the cue ball is what actually moved the other ball?

Both players were A+ players and the score was hill, hill for several thousands of dollars, I know this doesn't effect the rulling, but it certainly made both players not want to give in!


Actually it is a foul to touch any object ball with the cue ball or your hand thats holding the cueball while placing the cue ball in position(including your hand up to the wrist). BCA rule 1.38.4
 
Back
Top