In 10-Ball is it legal to pocket the correct object ball and call "safe", giving the opponent the next shot? How about in 8-Ball? 9-Ball? Thanks!
mwbee777...In 8-ball and 14.1 (straight pool) it is legal to pocket a called OB, and not have to shoot again (it has to be designated prior to shooting the OB). In rotation games, such as 9-ball and 10-ball, you may not legally pocket an object ball and choose not to continue.
Scott Lee
www.poolknowledge.com
Scott is correct in most cases, but if you are talking about in league, you need to check your league rules. I['m pretty sure in APA if you legally pocket one of your balls, your turn continues. No way to make a ball and play safety at the same time. I haven't played BCA in several years, but it was possible when I played in that league. So I would verify with your league officials.
Steve
Scott is correct in most cases, but if you are talking about in league, you need to check your league rules. I['m pretty sure in APA if you legally pocket one of your balls, your turn continues. No way to make a ball and play safety at the same time. I haven't played BCA in several years, but it was possible when I played in that league. So I would verify with your league officials.
Steve