Dave Nelson said:
In a match with a friend the other day we got into an exchange of safeties. an object ball and the cue ball were lined up very close to the head rail. He safed by nudging the object ball to the rail leaving the situation basically unchanged. I then did the same. He repeated and then told me that that made three safties on the same rail and I therefore had to do something else. I said that I thought that rule was no longer in the book. I have two sets of rules and it is not in either, but I agreed to go with his wishes for the time. Can anyone here give a definitive answer to this problem? I won the match anyway.
Dave Nelson
This situation has been referred to as a "nurse safety." The rule changed as of January, 2008.
The old rule varied a little, but basically, if the only rail contact was by an object ball that started less than a ball from the rail, only two such safes were permitted by each player before the ball was considered frozen to the cushion. Note that you are not required to go to a different cushion, but you do have to treat the object ball as if it starts frozen to the cushion. The cue ball going to that same cushion after contact would be OK, for example, or if you could somehow get the object ball to bounce off the cushion and then return to that same cushion again, it would be OK.
But that rule no longer exists.
The new rule is a stalemate rule. At 14.1, if a stalemate situation occurs in which no progress is being made towards a conclusion, you clear all the balls and lag for break. See the WPA website for the full text. Here it is:
http://www.wpa-pool.com/download/WPA_Rules.pdf You may also want to get the Regulations, which cover some details of how the rules are supposed to be applied:
http://www.wpa-pool.com/download/WPA_Regulations.pdf
And your friend was wrong about the old rule. Each player was allowed the same number of hits on the ball, so since he started it, he should have been the first one to have to try something else.