No, what prompted this conversation and got my wheels turning was the abuse of this judgement authority... This just prompted my brain to start turning.
As I mentioned, for the most part I am rather passive about the whole issue. BUt recently Ive noticed that this autority granted to what I might consider unqualified or at worst paranoid & bias opposing scorekeepers...
Here's the last couple things that got my wheels turning...
Recently I played another highly ranked player. Prior to this match, I had been playing well. Shot making was very sharp. In this match, I entered with a confident & aggresive mindset. Runout throttle pinned to the floor. I can 100% honestly tell you at no time was I thinking in a defensive mindset. This is a little unusual as I do tend to examine the table for all of the possible shots/scenario's. But, as I said, I was hot. Runout blinders on.
Ok, so during this match I do recall thinking defensively and taking exactly 2 defensive shots. Where my highest priority was not leaving my opponent a shot or hooking him. I remember this distinctively. I was not going to "duck" and was shooting well enough that I felt I could make anything. (save for when I was hooked, or I was kicking at a ball because of a safe he played against me. Which was maybe 2x). So, I can tell you absolutely 100% that I "switched" into "think defensive" exactly 2 times. No reason to bring this up here if not true.
So anyway, I put on a runout clinic of sorts. I made shots all over the table. Heavy english 3 rail leaves, breakout cuts, full table draws for shape, etc, etc.. I was on. Anyway, I crushed him. 18-2 or something... So after the match I check the scoresheet, my scorekeeper has me marked for 3 defensive shots. Ok, fine. So he gave me credit for one other shot. WHatever, I got credit for being better than I was trying to be. lol. SO anyway, I sign the other scoresheet at the end of the night and notice the team captain over there had me marked for 8 defensive shots!!!! 8!! I was like, WTF?! I don't even remember missing 8 shots the entire match much less 8 defensive shots!. I actually sorta laughed. I asked, I said "where did you get 8 from??". She gets all defensive with me and says "our scoresheets don't have to match!" your too good to be a SL___. "I saw 8". So, needless to say, I got pretty irritated by this.
Another situation with a completely different team/scorekeeper... As a general rule obviously with some exceptions... I don't mark many/any defensive shots when SL1-2's play.. They are awful, lol. Lucky if they hit a ball or even get within a foot of the pocket in some cases. So, signing a scoresheet I looking down to see that someone had marked my SL2 (was a SL1, who just became a 2 a week earlier) and just took up pool a few months ago) for 5 defensive shots, LOL. I mean really. Im not kidding, unless a ball is literally in the pocket she can't make it... But, she will absolutely try. She honestly does not know what a safety is, really. If I said, "Play a safety" she would ask what I meant. lol. Anyway, I didn't have her marked for any (obviously). I asked (very friendly), "how did you come up with 5 ?" the person responds with "she could have made a couple of the shots she missed". My response.. "lol" "that's why she's a SL2, she might not hit the broad side of a barn even if you painted a target on it and gave her a nucular bomb. lol".
So anyway, Those are a couple situations which for one reason or another have been coming up more and more often... It's a little frustrating.
My original 2 questions were spawned by the first instance I noted. Where, maybe I played a two way shot that I really don't even think I was contiously aware of.. maybe that what was seen??? I thought through the whole thing, I just cant figure out where that came from. The other possibilty was maybe because I was a little "in the zone" and shooting what may be considered "cowboy" without even considering what happens if I miss? Really only thinking "where do I leave this ball for my next shot when I make it"... and maybe (though I dont remember it) I missed and got a decent defensive leave??? and for that, this person is giving the authority to decide what my intentions were???
Either way, I had to question what my understanding was. "intent" was the paradigm of judgement and in all the cases above I can tell you with 100% absolute certainty my SL2 intended to try to make those shots and 100% absolute certainty I absolutely intended on making those shots & running out.
As I mentioned, for the most part I am rather passive about the whole issue. BUt recently Ive noticed that this autority granted to what I might consider unqualified or at worst paranoid & bias opposing scorekeepers...
Here's the last couple things that got my wheels turning...
Recently I played another highly ranked player. Prior to this match, I had been playing well. Shot making was very sharp. In this match, I entered with a confident & aggresive mindset. Runout throttle pinned to the floor. I can 100% honestly tell you at no time was I thinking in a defensive mindset. This is a little unusual as I do tend to examine the table for all of the possible shots/scenario's. But, as I said, I was hot. Runout blinders on.
Ok, so during this match I do recall thinking defensively and taking exactly 2 defensive shots. Where my highest priority was not leaving my opponent a shot or hooking him. I remember this distinctively. I was not going to "duck" and was shooting well enough that I felt I could make anything. (save for when I was hooked, or I was kicking at a ball because of a safe he played against me. Which was maybe 2x). So, I can tell you absolutely 100% that I "switched" into "think defensive" exactly 2 times. No reason to bring this up here if not true.
So anyway, I put on a runout clinic of sorts. I made shots all over the table. Heavy english 3 rail leaves, breakout cuts, full table draws for shape, etc, etc.. I was on. Anyway, I crushed him. 18-2 or something... So after the match I check the scoresheet, my scorekeeper has me marked for 3 defensive shots. Ok, fine. So he gave me credit for one other shot. WHatever, I got credit for being better than I was trying to be. lol. SO anyway, I sign the other scoresheet at the end of the night and notice the team captain over there had me marked for 8 defensive shots!!!! 8!! I was like, WTF?! I don't even remember missing 8 shots the entire match much less 8 defensive shots!. I actually sorta laughed. I asked, I said "where did you get 8 from??". She gets all defensive with me and says "our scoresheets don't have to match!" your too good to be a SL___. "I saw 8". So, needless to say, I got pretty irritated by this.
Another situation with a completely different team/scorekeeper... As a general rule obviously with some exceptions... I don't mark many/any defensive shots when SL1-2's play.. They are awful, lol. Lucky if they hit a ball or even get within a foot of the pocket in some cases. So, signing a scoresheet I looking down to see that someone had marked my SL2 (was a SL1, who just became a 2 a week earlier) and just took up pool a few months ago) for 5 defensive shots, LOL. I mean really. Im not kidding, unless a ball is literally in the pocket she can't make it... But, she will absolutely try. She honestly does not know what a safety is, really. If I said, "Play a safety" she would ask what I meant. lol. Anyway, I didn't have her marked for any (obviously). I asked (very friendly), "how did you come up with 5 ?" the person responds with "she could have made a couple of the shots she missed". My response.. "lol" "that's why she's a SL2, she might not hit the broad side of a barn even if you painted a target on it and gave her a nucular bomb. lol".
So anyway, Those are a couple situations which for one reason or another have been coming up more and more often... It's a little frustrating.
My original 2 questions were spawned by the first instance I noted. Where, maybe I played a two way shot that I really don't even think I was contiously aware of.. maybe that what was seen??? I thought through the whole thing, I just cant figure out where that came from. The other possibilty was maybe because I was a little "in the zone" and shooting what may be considered "cowboy" without even considering what happens if I miss? Really only thinking "where do I leave this ball for my next shot when I make it"... and maybe (though I dont remember it) I missed and got a decent defensive leave??? and for that, this person is giving the authority to decide what my intentions were???
Either way, I had to question what my understanding was. "intent" was the paradigm of judgement and in all the cases above I can tell you with 100% absolute certainty my SL2 intended to try to make those shots and 100% absolute certainty I absolutely intended on making those shots & running out.
Last edited: