Scoring rule question

Myk

dorkfish
Silver Member
I was playing some straights the other night with a friend, and was on the last 2 balls of a rack. When I pocketed the 14th ball, I needed to knock the break ball out of the rack area. I ended up pocketing both balls, leaving the table bare.(On the same legal stroke)

I know the last ball would just go in the rack, but do I score the point for the 15th ball?
 
You get credited for all balls made on a legal shot, it counted as a scored ball, you get both balls. Next, the cue ball stays where it is (unless in the rack) and all balls are racked for your next shot.
 
Last edited:
Correction

I was playing some straights the other night with a friend, and was on the last 2 balls of a rack. When I pocketed the 14th ball, I needed to knock the break ball out of the rack area. I ended up pocketing both balls, leaving the table bare.(On the same legal stroke)

I know the last ball would just go in the rack, but do I score the point for the 15th ball?

The first part: you would count both balls & rack a full rack (all 15) the cue would stay where it is.

Your 2nd statement is incorrect ( "I know the last ball would just go in the rack "). If the 15th ball (your break ball) ends up anywhere in the rack. That ball gets spotted on the Head Spot. The cue remains where ever it is. You can shoot the ball on the Head Spot or at the rack, even if the cue ball is behind the Head String Line.
I hope this helps.
 
Back
Top