Never seen the rule enforced to that point. He was clearly notified. No need to get that nitty.1:24:15 Bader & the ref both tell Shane he is on two when he commits his 2nd foul, The World standardized rules clearly state that you must notify the player when he "returns" to the table nulifing this loss of game.
You sure? I thought the ref interupted him to ask where they were going for lunch.Listen closely, at 1:25:00 the ref tells him “you have two foul.”
Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
Boils down to letter of the law vs spirit of law. The only way the letter should not prevail is if Shane consents. Uh, for the good of the game.1:24:15 Bader & the ref both tell Shane he is on two when he commits his 2nd foul, The World standardized rules clearly state that you must notify the player when he "returns" to the table nulifing this loss of game.
What the OP is referring to is the WPA rule that says the player must be notified 'when he returns' to the table. Look, SVB was notified. End of story.Listen closely, at 1:25:00 the ref tells him “you have two foul.”
Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
Never seen the rule enforced to that point. He was clearly notified. No need to get that nitty.
The ref made it clear to SVB where he stood. I've played a lot of 3-foul 9ball and this has never been an issue. How many people do you think know the exact WPA wording of the 3-foul rule? I'd bet high its not very many.The reason the rule is there so you don't spend waiting for the guy to shoot 7 balls, then a safe, you go back to the table and everyone forgets the other foul count. I have seen that rule used, and of course with arguments and almost fights along with it. My point for enforcing the actual rule, it's not so hard to use it properly, I mean once you reach past 3rd grade people should know what "before" and "after" means. And if someone played a single game of a game where the 3 foul rule is used they should know the correct rule.
Here is the WPA regulation about the three-foul warning:The ref told him twice. Directly after his second foul (1:24:15) and again when he returned to the table (1:25:00), as AF pool guy noted in post 4.
Is it a foul if there is no cushion contact?They sure enforce the call pocket rule also when the ball is 1 inch in front of a pocket or when a ball clearly goes inside a pocket then pops back out...
Finally I understand what nitty means...Never seen the rule enforced to that point. He was clearly notified. No need to get that nitty.
If you've just been told 'you're on 2' do you really need to be reminded before you shoot? Seriously, are you going to forget it before you shoot again? That's my point. Splitting hairs is being nice.Finally I understand what nitty means...
Yes it's ridiculous to split this hair.
I tell them they are "on two" when I grab the cueball. Then after I play safe I tell them " you are shooting three".The ref made it clear to SVB where he stood. I've played a lot of 3-foul 9ball and this has never been an issue. How many people do you think know the exact WPA wording of the 3-foul rule? I'd bet high its not very many.
Exactly...and I know this from experience. Plus telling a guy he's on 2 can definitely rattle some.Here is the WPA regulation about the three-foul warning:
When a game has a three-foul rule, the referee should note to the players any second foul at the time that it occurs and also when the player who is on two fouls returns to the table. The first warning is not required by the rules but is meant to prevent later misunderstandings. If there is a scoreboard on which the foul count is visible to the players, it satisfies the warning requirement.