Pushout said:In Straight Pool, Efren would lose 15 points and have to break the rack as per the opening break. But, this only occurs on the third consecutive foul. I've never heard of this rule being applied for one intentional foul.
Oh yeah, you're right -- Efren re-broke the rack. Apparently Efren never heard of this rule either. It was a foul specifically because he hit the cue ball without using the tip. Dallas West actually called the referee over and pointed it out to him -- then they had to confirm the rule -- and then they issued the penalty. (Efren still won anyway BTW -- because he had a 141 ball run and had a huge lead)