Square Pigeon

Dave Nelson

AzB Silver Member
Silver Member
A small group,4, of us have decided it would be nice to have a smoke free straight pool tournament. Between the 4 of us we have 3 home tables. My 8 ft. Brunswick VIP and Ken and Carey each have 9 ft. Gold Crowns. The fourth member is my arch enemy Half-Fast Larry. We have christened this endeavor a Straight Pool Square Pigeon.

Larry and I played the opening round yesterday on my table with the following result. I was in the throes of a magnificent run of 9 and out. There were 2 balls on the table. One in the rack and the other in the kitchen on a straight line from the head spot to a corner pocket. I pocketed the ball in the rack leaving the cue ball in the rack. Larry racked the balls and I placed the cue ball on the head spot. Larry said, you can't shoot that ball in the kitchen can you? I said that in this situation I thought that I could. We consulted the rule book and Larry reluctantly agreed that I could. I would have won the match anyway, but was I right or wrong?

Dave Nelson
 
you are right.
I have an accustats where Cisero Murphy plays it the same way.
steven
 
Can't believe that I got only one response to this question. Does everybody else agree with Driven and me?

Dave Nelson
 
Dave: That is the correct way to play it.

Nothing more to say.

Happy
Easter.


Dennis
 
Dave, I believe the rule states that after the cue ball is placed on the headspot you can shoot at any ball with no restrictions. Something to that effect. :)

Ahh, I found it ...

4.8 Special Racking Situations
When the cue ball or fifteenth object ball interferes with racking fourteen balls for a new rack,
the following special rules apply. A ball is considered to interfere with the rack if it is within
or overlaps the outline of the rack. The referee will state when asked whether a ball interferes
with the rack.
(a) If the fifteenth ball was pocketed on the shot that scored the fourteenth ball, all fifteen
balls are re-racked.
(b) If both balls interfere, all fifteen balls are re-racked and the cue ball is in hand behind the
head string.
(c) If only the object ball interferes, it is placed on the head spot or the center spot if the cue
ball blocks the head spot.
(d) If only the cue ball interferes, then it is placed as follows: if the object ball is in front of or
on the head string, the cue ball is in hand behind the head string; if the object ball is behind
the head string, the cue ball is spotted on the head spot, or on the center spot if the head spot is
blocked.
In any case, there is no restriction on which object ball the shooter may play as the first shot
of the new rack.
 
Last edited:
Thanks 3andstop

I guess there SHOULDN'T be any question about it but, around here anyway, there IS.

Dave
 
Back
Top