Straight Pool Foul Question

BHQ

we'll miss you
Silver Member
When Checking To See If A Ball Is In The Rack With The Rack, Is It A Foul If One Of The Balls Is Touched And/or Moved By The Rack?
 
Rack line

If there is no line drawn on the felt for the rack, I do
not believe it is a foul. It is like in 9 ball if a player
accidentally moves a ball that is not the cue ball or
the object ball. I believe the opposing player gets
to put it back in alignment with where it should go.
 
Snapshot9 said:
If there is no line drawn on the felt for the rack, I do
not believe it is a foul. It is like in 9 ball if a player
accidentally moves a ball that is not the cue ball or
the object ball. I believe the opposing player gets
to put it back in alignment with where it should go.

Hi snapshot,
here are the official foul rules for straight pool....

Fouls
Each foul is minus one point, except where noted.

Failure to hit an object ball and drive either an object ball or the cue ball to a rail after the hit.
Moving any ball with a piece of clothing.
Not keeping one foot on the floor during a shot.
Off of the opening break, the breaker must drive two balls from the rack to a rail. Failure to do so is a loss of 2 points.
3 consecutive fouls in a row is a loss of 15 points.
 
Rules

I checked the rules too, and in racking the balls, it does not
address the issue of if a ball in the rack rolls out from the rack.

Here is the rule:

6. If the 15th (un-pocketed) ball of a rack and/or the cue ball interferes with the triangle being lowered straight down into position for racking, refer to the diagram, which indicates the proper manner of relocating balls. (The gray boxes are those situations in which there is no interference, both balls remain in position.)
 
Back
Top