Templates vs usual wooden racks and break balls

dquarasr

Registered
When using a wooden rack, we determine whether a break ball is in the "rack zone" by whether the rack will interfere with the ball, and if so, it gets spotted up table.

When using a template rack, which obviously has no width outside the 14 balls racked, is a break ball considered in the rack zone if it is inside where the wooden rack WOULD be if using one, or is it left in place if none of the balls placed in the template interfere with the break ball?

For example, in this layout, the break ball is outside the 14 balls, but would be spotted if a wooden rack is used.

If I were to have drawn an outline of the rack, the 6 would be inside the lines.

1752248232599.jpeg

1752248253938.jpeg
 
It's probably one of them things discussed before the game if you are using a template rack. Personaly if using a template rack the ball would be kept in the same spot.
 
When I played with the donut hole rack (the alpha rack) we would use a wooden rack to see if a ball is in the "rack". I would never play with a lay on the cloth template rack. It interferes with the ball movement too much.
 
Old school rules moved the breakball only if it interfered with racking (I never agreed with a mandatory outline). So, like back then, you would likely have to guess.
 
There is an actual rule about this. If something other than a triangle rack is used to form the re-rack, the outline of a triangle is still marked on the table to determine in/out.

In fact, Jayson Shaw's record high run (832) was made using the Perma-Rack and an outline was drawn. in Jayson's run, no ball was ever in the problem area so the rule did not come up.

Another racking device that is problematic is the Sardo rack which has no back. I guess an outline would have to be marked for it as well.
Old school rules moved the breakball only if it interfered with racking (I never agreed with a mandatory outline). So, like back then, you would likely have to guess.
The official rules have always included an outline so far as I know. The rules for the 1921 championship mentions one.
 
Last edited:
There is an actual rule about this. If something other than a triangle rack is used to form the re-rack, the outline of a triangle is still marked on the table to determine in/out.

In fact, Jayson Shaw's record high run (832) was made using the Perma-Rack and an outline was drawn. in Jayson's run, no ball was ever in the problem area so the rule did not come up.

Another racking device that is problematic is the Sardo rack which has no back. I guess an outline would have to be marked for it as well.

The official rules have always included an outline so far as I know. The rules for the 1921 championship mentions one.
Guess I should have been more specific re: ‘old school’ (no outline on the straight pool table in the ‘Hustler’ movie! 😁).
In all the years gambling at 14.1, I don’t recall anyone ever asking the room owner for a pencil to draw one. ‘Guessing’ re: whether or not racking would interfere, was always something we considered as just another ‘skill’ aspect of the game.
 
Last edited:
Back
Top