This came up today in a 14-1 game

highrun55

can`t make a ball anymore
Silver Member
Player calls a safe, shoots a combo shot and the first ball lands dead center in the pocket, and don`t drop, this is a foul because nothing hit a rail.

After this happens, someone says what would have happened if the ball would have fell in besides coming back up ? Would that also be a foul because a ball never hit a rail ? I say no foul, just spot the ball.

Settle this argument for me.
Thanks
highrun55
 
hobokenapa said:
If nothing hits a rail, it is a foul. If the ball had gone in, it would not be a foul.

I agree with this, but just to be sure, I'd get with Bob Jewett and have him make the call.

:p
 
highrun55 said:
Player calls a safe, shoots a combo shot and the first ball lands dead center in the pocket, and don`t drop, this is a foul because nothing hit a rail.

After this happens, someone says what would have happened if the ball would have fell in besides coming back up ? Would that also be a foul because a ball never hit a rail ? I say no foul, just spot the ball.

Settle this argument for me.
Thanks
highrun55
The new rules are available on the WPA website, www.wpa-pool.com. All of the fouls for 14.1 are listed together pretty well. Usually you can figure that if what happened on a shot is not listed there, then the shot was not a foul.

Here is that list:

Standard fouls at 14.1:

6.1 Cue Ball Scratch or off the Table The cue ball is in hand behind the head string (see 1.5 Cue Ball in Hand).
6.3 No Rail after Contact
6.4 No Foot on Floor
6.5 Ball Driven off the Table (All object balls driven off the table are respotted.)
6.6 Touched Ball
6.7 Double Hit / Frozen Balls
6.8 Push Shot
6.9 Balls Still Moving
6.10 Bad Cue Ball Placement
6.11 Bad Play from Behind the Head String For a foul under the second paragraph of 6.11, the cue ball is in hand behind the head string for the incoming player.
6.12 Cue Stick on the Table
6.13 Playing out of Turn
6.15 Slow Play

It helps to know what each of those fouls is, but 6.3 is the only one that has a chance to apply. 6.3 is:

6.3 No Rail after Contact
If no ball is pocketed on a shot, the cue ball must contact an object ball, and after that contact at least one ball (cue ball or any object ball) must be driven to a rail, or the shot is a foul. (See 8.4 Driven to a Rail.)

I did not answer your question directly. I think it is important for each player to actually read the rules and try to understand them. All too often, rules are passed around by word of mouth, and they get garbled.
 
I'm not so sure...

And I really don't understand your first sentence highrun...

So just suppose you are shooting an easy straight in shot...dead stop on the cue ball...the object ball hits the back of the pocket and bounces back out to land on the table...

Is this a foul because the object ball did not hit a rail???

I think not...I'm plucking here but I think the back of the pocket is equivalent...good try?...to a rail...and therefore a legal shot. A miss but not a foul.

???

Mike
 
Mike_Mason said:
And I really don't understand your first sentence highrun...

So just suppose you are shooting an easy straight in shot...dead stop on the cue ball...the object ball hits the back of the pocket and bounces back out to land on the table...

Is this a foul because the object ball did not hit a rail???

I think not...I'm plucking here but I think the back of the pocket is equivalent...good try?...to a rail...and therefore a legal shot. A miss but not a foul.

???

Mike

You are correct, not a foul, but your turn ends.
What was asked is if the ball that was pocketed in the combination shot would it still be a foul, and we found out it would not be a foul.

Mickey
 
Back
Top